Hosted websites will become read-only beginning in early 2024. At that time, all logins will be disabled, but hosted sites will remain on RootsWeb as static content. Website owners wishing to maintain their sites must migrate to a different hosting provider before 2024 (More info)
County Kilkenny Ireland Poor Law Union Map Maps
Poor Law Union Maps of County Kilkenny

Poor Law Unions - or PLU's were districts created under the Poor Law Relief Act of 1838 (aka the Poor Law). Land-based taxes were collected within these areas for maintenance of the local poor. PLU's later became 'General Registrar's Districts', areas within which civil births, deaths and marriages were compiled. For genealogical information about PLU's, refer to Workhouse Records (PRONI). For a short history of the Poor Law in County Kilkenny, see The Great Famine in County Kilkenny.

Poor Law Union (or Rural District) records are mainly Minutes of the Board of Guardians and Registers of Workhouse Admissions and Discharges. Surviving Poor Law Union Records are held at the Kilkenny County Library. Also see Familia.

There were five Poor Law Unions in County Kilkenny prior to 1849 which included Kilkenny, Callan, New Ross, Carrick on Suir, and Waterford. The boundaries of each Union extended beyond County lines.

The five original PLUs were restructured into eight PLU's about 1849, as Urlingford, Castlecomer and Thomastown were added. The 8 Poor Law Unions which extended into County Kilkenny post-1849 included Callan, Carrick-on-Suir, Castlecomer, Kilkenny, New Ross, Thomastown, Urlingford, and Waterford.

For a list of the Administrative Divisions of County Kilkenny, please refer to this page.
For a map of all PLUs in Ireland, see the Poor Law Union Map at the Univ. of Wisconsin.

Web site coordinator      

Page last modified Monday, 04-Oct-2004 16:30:23 MDT
You are the [an error occurred while processing this directive] visitor.
A Special Thanks to Rootsweb for this web space.