Dioceses of Ireland
County Kilkenny Ireland Genealogy

Dioceses of Ireland


County Kilkenny resides in the Catholic Archdiocese of Dublin, comprising most of the Catholic Diocese of Ossory, with the east central portion of the County residing in the Catholic Diocese of Kildare and Leighlin.

Archdiocese: Armagh
Diocese: Ardagh (and Clonmacnois), Clogher, Derry, Down and Connor, Dromore (or ), Kilmore, Meath, Raphoe.

Archdiocese: Cashel & Emly
Diocese: Cloyne, Cork and Ross, Kerry, Killaloe, Limerick, Waterford and Lismore

Archdiocese: Dublin
Diocese: Ferns, Kildare and Leighlin, Ossory

Archdiocese: Tuam
Diocese: Achonry, Clonfert, Elphin, Galway, Kilmacduagh and Kilfenora, Killala, Tuam

Also see: Catholic Church in Ireland
List of Catholic Dioceses at the Catholic Pages.
Irish Catholic Pages at RC Net.
Refer to the Catholic Parish Map of Kilkenny.

Anglican Church of Ireland

County Kilkenny is within the Anglican Province of Dublin, and comprises much of the Anglican Diocese of Ossory, with small portions of Leighlin and Cashel Diocese also represented in the County.

Province:: Armagh
Diocese: Armagh; Clogher; Derry and Raphoe; Down and Dromore; Connor; Kilmore, Elphin and Ardagh; Tuam, Killala and Achonry.

Province:: Dublin
Diocese: Dublin and Glendalough; Meath and Kildare; Cashel; Waterford, Lismore, Ossory, Ferns and Leighlin; Cork, Cloyne and Ross; Limerick; Ardfert, Aghadoe, Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert, Kilmacduagh and Emly.

Refer to the Civil Parish Map of Kilkenny.

Available Diocesan and Parish Records

Records at Public Record Office of Northern Ireland for Armagh Diocesan Archives:
Diocese: Clogher; Derry and Raphoe; Down, Connor and Dromore; Ardagh, Elphin and Kilmore; Meath.

Return to Administrative Divisions of County Kilkenny

Web site coordinator      

Page last modified Monday, 04-Oct-2004 16:30:29 MDT
You are the [an error occurred while processing this directive] visitor.
A Special Thanks to Rootsweb for this web space.