County Kilkenny Barony and Townland
County Kilkenny Ireland Genealogy

The Baronies of County Kilkenny

County Kilkenny is located in southern Leinster Province of the Republic of Ireland. In the 13th and 14th centuries, Kilkenny was divided into twelve Cantreds based roughly on Gaelic family territories or "tuaths". See also early Barony History

In the 18th century County Kilkenny consisted of the following baronies: Galmoy, Lower Ossory, Fassadinig, Cranagh, Shellilogher, Gowran, Kells, Knocktopher, Ida, Igrin, Iverk and Ibercon. It additionally included the Liberties of Kilkenny and of Callan. In Pender's 1659 'census' of Ireland he gives the names of the baronies which would be united into the barony of Ida as Ida, Igram & Iberson.
By the 19th century these were restructured into the baronies of Callan, Crannagh, Fassadinin, Galmoy, Gowran, Ida, Iverk, Kells, Knocktopher, Shillelogher.

Each barony in Kilkenny included a number of civil parishes, which in turn contain a number of townlands. Useful 19th century land records, such as Griffiths Valuation (1849-50 for Kilkenny) or the Tithe Applotment Survey (1823-38), were organized by Barony, Civil Parish and Townland. The barony is no longer an administrative unit of the county.

The following information approximates that taken from 1851 Census of the Baronies of Kilkenny.

Callan - Contains about 60 townlands and 5,600 acres. The civil parish of Callan coincides with the barony of Callan. Townlands of Callan

Crannagh - Contains about 200 townlands and 58,000 acres. The civil parishes of Ballinamara, Ballycallan, Ballylarkin, Clashacrow, Clomantagh, Coolcraheen, Fertagh, Freshford, Garranamanagh, Kilcooly, Killahy, Killaloe, Kilmanagh, Odagh, Sheffin, St. Canice, Tubbridbritain, Tullaghanbrogue, and Tullaroan extend into the barony of Crannagh. Townlands of Crannagh

Fassadinin - Contains about 130 townlands and 68,000 acres. The civil parishes of Attanagh, Castlecomer, Coolcraheen, Donaghmore, Dunmore, Dysart, Grangemaccomb, Kilmacar, Kilmademoge, Kilmadum, Kilmenan, Mayne, Mothell, Muckalee, Odagh, Rathaspick, Rathbeagh, and Rosconnell extend into the barony of Fassadinin. Townlands of Fassadinin

Galmoy - Contains about 90 townlands and 40,000 acres. The civil parishes of Aharney, Balleen, Borrismore, Coolcashin, Durrow, Erke, Fertagh, Glashare, Rathbeagh, Sheffin, and Urlingford extend into the barony of Galmoy. Townlands of Galmoy

Gowran - Contains about 340 townlands and 110,000 acres. The civil parishes of Ballylinch, Blackrath, Blanchvilleskill, Clara, Columbkille, Dunbell, Dungarvan, Famma, Gowran, Graiguenamanagh, Grangesilvia, Inistioge, Jerpoint West, Jerpointabbey, Kilderry, Kilfane, Kilkieran, Kilmacahill, Kilmadum, Mothell, Pleberstown, Powerstown, Rathcoole, Shankill, St. John's, St. Martins. St. Maul's, Thomastown, Tiscoffin, Treadingstown, Tullaherin, Ullard, Wells, and Woolengrange extend into the barony of Gowran. Townlands of Gowran

Ida - Contains about 190 townlands and 60,000 acres. The civil parishes of Ballygurrim, Clonamery, Dunkitt, Dysartmoon, Gaulskill, Jerpoint West, Kilbride, Kilcoan, Kilcolumb, Kilmakevoge, Listerlin, Rathpatrick, Rosbercon, Rossinan, Shanbogh, and The Rower extend into the barony of Ida. Townlands of Ida

Iverk - Contains about 120 townlands and 40,000 acres. The civil parishes of Aglish, Arderra, Ballytarsney, Clonmore, Fiddown, Kilmacow, Kilmaganny, Muckalee, Owning, Pollrone, Portnascully, Rathkieran, Tibberaghny, Tubbrid, Ullid, and Whitechurch extend into the barony of Iverk. Townlands of Iverk

Kells - Contains about 160 townlands and 38,000 acres. The civil parishes of Ballytobin, Coolaghmore, Dunnamaggan, Kells, Killamery, Kilmaganny, Kilree, Mallardstown, Stonecarthy, and Tullahought extend into the barony of Kells. Townlands of Kells

Knocktopher - Contains about 130 townlands and 48,000 acres. The civil parishes of Aghaviller, Derrynahinch, Dunnamaggan, Ennisnag, Fiddown, Jerpoint West, Jerpointchurch, Kilbeacon, Kilkeasy, Killahy, Knocktopher, Lismateige, Listerlin, Muckalee, Rossinan, and Stonecarthy extend into the barony of Knocktopher. Townlands of Knocktopher

Shillelogher - Contains about 160 townlands and 36,000 acres. The civil parishes of Ballybur, Burnchurch, Castleinch, Danesfort, Earlstown, Ennisnag, Grange, Grangekilree, Kells, Kilferagh, Killaloe, Outrath, St. Canice, St. John's, St. Patrick's, Stonecarthy, Treadingstown, Tullaghanbrogue, and Tullamaine extend into the barony of Shillelogher. Townlands of Shillelogher

Also refer to: Barony and City Map -- Barony and Civil Parish Map
Cross-reference of parishes and townlands within each barony: Townland Index by Barony.

Web site coordinator      

Page last modified Sunday, 17-Nov-2002 20:58:37 MST
You are the [an error occurred while processing this directive] visitor.
A Special Thanks to Rootsweb for this web space.