Castles of Ireland - County Wicklow

Ireland's History in Maps
The Castles of Ireland
Leinster Province : County Wicklow
Compiled by Lee Johnson
Early Stone Fortifications - Castles, Towers and Strong-Houses
(What, Where, Who and When? -- A work in progress)
Search other Counties, or provide your feedback or contributions through the Index Page.

Castle Name Condition Description Early Founder(s) -- Time Period(s) Contructed Parish/Townland Ord Residency Links
Arklow Castle (Arclogh Castle, Ormonde Castle) Ruins Remnants of a 13th century Butler castle. Butler, MacMurrough - 13th century? Arklow T 2353
Ballinacor Castle ("Phelim's Castle") None
Ballymanus Castle
Ballynakill Castle Ruins
Baltinglass Castle Ruins
Black Castle (site of Wicklow Castle) Ruins Ruins of a 12th century castle. Fitzgerald -- 13th/14th century
T 3194
Burgage Castle Ruins
Carnew Castle

O'Toole -- 17th century Carnew
Carysfort Castle (Moycreddin, Moycredyne, Macreddin Castle)
Castle Grange
Castle Kevin Ruins
de Londres (c1214), O'Toole
Castle-Howard Full*
Castlemacadam Ruins
Castlemore Moat None
Dunganstown Castle Ruins
Dunran Castle Ruins
Fennagh Castle (Fenagh Castle) None
Glenart Castle Full*

Grange-Con Castle Ruins
Humewood Castle (Kilteagan Castle) Full*
19th century

Kindelstown Ruins
Archbold -- 13th/14th century hall-house
Knockrath Castle Ruins
Laragh Castle
Newcastle Castle Ruins An early 13th century motte with what may be the remains of a 16th century gatehouse. King John (c1200), O'Byrne -- 16th century
O 2903
Powerscourt Castle Full The site of a Norman castle.
Powerscourt Castle (old) (Glendalough Castle) None
6th century monastic site and round tower (St. Kevin)
Ranegeragh Castle Ruins
Rathdown Castle Ruins
Threecastles Castle Partial The remains of one of the three towerhouses which gave the town its name. 14th/15th century tower-house
Wicklow Castle
Site of a 12th century castle with stonework. It may be the site of what is now called Black Castle.

T 3194

32 -- Entries Listed

Go to another County
Antrim Armagh Carlow Cavan Clare Cork Derry Donegal
Down Dublin Fermanagh Galway Kerry Kildare Kilkenny Laois
Leitrim Limerick Longford Louth Mayo Meath Monaghan Offaly
Roscommon Sligo Tipperary Tyrone Waterford Wicklow Westmeath Wexford

Ireland's History in Maps Home Page
            Contact Information                        

You are the [an error occurred while processing this directive] visitor, since February 2007