Castles of Ireland - County Sligo

Ireland's History in Maps
The Castles of Ireland
Connacht Province : County Sligo
Compiled by Lee Johnson
Early Stone Fortifications - Castles, Towers and Strong-Houses
(What, Where, Who and When? -- A work in progress)
Search other Counties, or provide your feedback or contributions through the Index Page.

Castle Name Condition Description Early Founder(s) -- Time Period(s) Contructed Parish/Townland Ord Residency Links
Ardnaree Castle Ruins
Ardtermon Castle Full A 17th century rectangular towerhouse within a fortalice. O'Hart, Gore
G 5844 Private
Bahy Castle Ruins
Ballinafad Castle ("Castle of the Curlews") Ruins A late 16th century rectangular towerhouse. four massive towers Barbe (c1590) Ballinfad G 7808
Ballyhara Castle Ruins
Ballymote Castle Ruins A 13/14th century square stone enclosure castle with an impressive gatehouse.
Seat of Richard de Burgh, Red Earl of Ulster.
de Burgo (c1300), O'Connor, MacDonagh Ballymote G 6615
Benada Castle

Cairns Hill
A ring fort.
Carrickcoolla Castle Ruins
Castle Baldwin
An early 17th century "L-plan" towerhouse.

G 7614
Castle Dargan Ruins
MacDonagh -- 15th century.
Castle MacFirbis Ruins
MacFirbis stronghold Inishcrone
Castle Neynoe
Castle-connor Ruins
Castlelough Ruins
Cloonoghill Castle (Clonymeaghan Castle) Ruins
Collooney Castle
A 12th century pre-Norman Irish castle.

N 0521
Drumcliffe Castle None
Drumcliffe Round Tower
Round Tower

Gara castle (O'Gara's Castle, Moygara Castle, Magh-Ui-Gadhra, Moyogara Castle) Ruins The remains of a 13th century great tower within a 16th century stone enclosure. Cuisin (c1215), O'Gara -- 16th century
G 6903
Iniscrone Castle (Enniscrone Castle) Ruins Remains of a rectangular stone enclosure castle. MacDonnell, Nolan -- 17th century semi-fortified house Inishcrone F 2930
stone fort or caiseal (St. Molaise)
Kilglass Castle (near Pullogheany creek) Ruins
Kingsfort Castle None
Lacken Castle (Castle Forbes) Ruins
A large earthwork enclosure.
Longford Castle None
Markree Castle Full*
Cooper -- 17th centu

Memleck Castle Ruins
Newtown Castle Ruins
O'Dowds Castle Partial
Rallee Castle Ruins
Rosslee Castle Ruins
Sligo Castle Ruins
Sligo Castle (Old) None
Tanragoe Castle/Bawn (Tanrago Castle/Bawn) Ruins

37 -- Entries Listed

Go to another County
Antrim Armagh Carlow Cavan Clare Cork Derry Donegal
Down Dublin Fermanagh Galway Kerry Kildare Kilkenny Laois
Leitrim Limerick Longford Louth Mayo Meath Monaghan Offaly
Roscommon Sligo Tipperary Tyrone Waterford Wicklow Westmeath Wexford

Ireland's History in Maps Home Page
            Contact Information                        

You are the [an error occurred while processing this directive] visitor, since February 2007