Castles of Ireland - County Monaghan

Ireland's History in Maps
The Castles of Ireland
Ulster Province : County Monaghan
Compiled by Lee Johnson
Early Stone Fortifications - Castles, Towers and Strong-Houses
(What, Where, Who and When? -- A work in progress)
Search other Counties, or provide your feedback or contributions through the Index Page.

Castle Name Condition Description Early Founder(s) -- Time Period(s) Contructed Parish/Townland Ord Residency Links
ancient castle (formerly at large house in the square "the Diamond" /Hope Castle/) None
Ancient Fortress (in Cornero wood and Mucknoe lake Shore Castle) None
Castle Blayney (Old "plantation") None
Castle Leslie (Glaslough Castle) Full
17th century Leslie manor-house

Castle Shane None
Donaghmoyne Castle (Manann Castle) None A 12th century motte-and-bailey castle.
Donaghmoyne Castle (Vicar's Dale) None Site of a 12th century motte and bailey castle.

H 8506
Essex Castle (Carrickmacross Castle, Carrick Castle, Magheross Castle) None
Fortress of Sir Edward Blayney None
Hilton Park Estates (Maddenton) Full
Hope Castle (Blayney Castle) Full
Loch Fea Castle Full*
Maghernacligh Castle Ruins'Beirne/1100s1500s.htm
Monaghan Castle (Lissadorn Castle, "the Fort of the Fist") Ruins

14 -- Entries Listed

Go to another County
Antrim Armagh Carlow Cavan Clare Cork Derry Donegal
Down Dublin Fermanagh Galway Kerry Kildare Kilkenny Laois
Leitrim Limerick Longford Louth Mayo Meath Monaghan Offaly
Roscommon Sligo Tipperary Tyrone Waterford Wicklow Westmeath Wexford

Ireland's History in Maps Home Page
            Contact Information                        

You are the [an error occurred while processing this directive] visitor, since February 2007