Castles of Ireland - County Louth

Ireland's History in Maps
The Castles of Ireland
Leinster Province : County Louth
Compiled by Lee Johnson
Early Stone Fortifications - Castles, Towers and Strong-Houses
(What, Where, Who and When? -- A work in progress)
Search other Counties, or provide your feedback or contributions through the Index Page.

Castle Name Condition Description Early Founder(s) -- Time Period(s) Contructed Parish/Townland Ord Residency Links
Ardee Castle (St. Leger's Castle) Full* tower house 13th century, now a courthouse. de Peppard (1207), Taffe -- 15th century Ardee N962907
Balley Castle
Ballug Castle Ruin
Ballymascanlon Castle None
Balrichen castle (Balbriggan Castle) Ruins
Belrobin Castle None
Byrne’s Folly (Dun Dealgan Motte) Ruin

Castle Bellingham Full*

Castletown Castle Full*

Clonkeen Castle Ruins
Clonmore Castle Ruins
Darver Castle Full*
Drogheda Castles
Mill Mount is an Anglo-Norman motte built on a prehistoric mound. On the opposite side of the River Boyne is the 13th century St Lawrence's Gate, which may be the remains of the barbican of another castle. de Lacy (c1180s) -- north of river from St. Laurence's Gate
N 0976
Dromiskin Castle (Dromisken Castle)

Dunmahon Castle Partial* A 15th century towerhouse.

Glaspistole Castle (Clogher Castle, Kilclogher Castle) Ruins
Hatch's Castle Full* tower house.

Heynestown Castle

King John's Castle Ruin A "D" shaped stone enclosure castle of the late 12th century with a 13th century hall block. de Lacy (c1200) -- 15th century Carlingford J188120
Knock Abbey Castle Full*
Milltown castle (Louth Castle, Fairy Mount) Partial* A 12th century motte 16th century tower (S of Heynestown)
Monasterboise Round Tower
Round Tower

Mount Ash
An Anglo-Norman motte castle with remains of stonework.

H 9514
Roche Castle (Castleroche, Castlellum de Rupe, de la Roche) Ruin A 13th century stone enclosure castle containing the remains of an earlier great tower. de Verdun (1236-74) - triangular castle
Roodstown Castle Partial* A 15th century four-storeyed rectangular towerhouse.
Ardee N996925
Slane Castle Full*

Event Center
Smarmore Castle Full*
(c1320) -- towerhouse

St Laurence's Gate

(c1250) Drogheda O092753
Taaffe's Castle Partial* 16th century towerhouse.

Termonfeckin Castle Partial* A 15th/16th century towerhouse. 15th/16th century tower-house Termonfeckin O143803
The Mint Full* 16th century towerhouse.


31 -- Entries Listed

Go to another County
Antrim Armagh Carlow Cavan Clare Cork Derry Donegal
Down Dublin Fermanagh Galway Kerry Kildare Kilkenny Laois
Leitrim Limerick Longford Louth Mayo Meath Monaghan Offaly
Roscommon Sligo Tipperary Tyrone Waterford Wicklow Westmeath Wexford

Ireland's History in Maps Home Page
            Contact Information                        

You are the [an error occurred while processing this directive] visitor, since February 2007