Castles of Ireland - County Laois

Ireland's History in Maps
The Castles of Ireland
Leinster Province : County Laois
Compiled by Lee Johnson
Early Stone Fortifications - Castles, Towers and Strong-Houses
(What, Where, Who and When? -- A work in progress)
Search other Counties, or provide your feedback or contributions through the Index Page.

Castle Name Condition Description Early Founder(s) -- Time Period(s) Contructed Parish/Townland Ord Residency Links
Aghaboe Moat ("rath of Lara","moat of Monacoghlan") Ruins
Aghamacart castle (Aughmacart Castle, Arrahmacart Castle) Ruins
Ballagh Castle Ruins
Ballaghmore Castle (Borris-in-Ossory castle, Burros-in-Ossory Castle, Ossory Castle) Full*
Fitzpatrick -- (1480) Ballaghmore
Ballinakill Castle Ruin
Ballyadams Castle Partial*

Ballyadams Castle (old) Ruins
Ballybrittas Castle (Brittas Castle) Ruins*
Ballygihin Castle (Ballygihen Castle) Ruins
Ballykealy castle Ruins
Callohill Castle Ruins
Castle Clonrear Ruins
Castle Cuffe (Castle Cuff, Ballenasagarte, Tinnehinch Castle) Ruins
Castle Durrow Full

Castlebrack Castle (Carraickabraghy Castle) Ruins
Castlefleming None
Castletown Castle Ruins
Clara Hill Castle Ruins
Clonbyrne Castle Ruins
Cloneurse castle Ruins
Coolkerry Castle Ruins
Cullahill castle Ruins 15th century) nearby.
Dunamase Castle ("Rock of Dunamase") Ruins The remains of a rectangular great tower and stone curtain, probably of Anglo-Norman origins. Marshall, de Braose (c1235), O'More
S 5298
Fermoyle castle

Garran castle (Garranmaconly ) Ruins
Gortnaclea castle (Gortneclay Castle) Partial
Gortnalee Castle (Gortneleahie Castle) Ruins
Grange Castle
Grangemore castle
Grantstown castle Ruins
Hovendon Castle Ruins
Kilbreedy Castle (Kilbredy Castle) Ruins A main FitzPatrick stronghold.
Killanure castle (Keylanure Castle) Ruins
Killeany Castle Ruins
Killeshin Castle
A 12th century motte and bailey castle.

S 6777
Lavagh Castle
Site of a motte castle.

S 3283
Lea Castle Ruins Ruins of a 13th century great tower with circular corner towers, curtain walls and a gatehouse which was later converted into a second great tower. Marshall (1203), de Vesey, Fitzgerald, Butler
N 5712
Maryborough castle Ruins
Miltown Castle (Ballyvuilling) Ruins
Moate Castle Ruins
Morett Castle (Moret Castle) Ruins
Mountrath Castle (Moynrath Castle, "fort in the bog", Castlecoote) Ruins
Mundrehid Castle Ruins
O'Mores Castle None
Rathspeck Castle (Coblerís Castle) Ruins
Reban Castle
Site of an early motte castle.

S 5898
Rushall Castle (Ruish-hall Castle) Ruins
Shane Castle (Sion Castle, Shehan Castle) Ruins
Shara castle (Lion Castle, Shelaw castle) None
Sharahane Castle Ruins
Shean Castle (Sim castle) Ruin
Shrule Castle (Shruel Castle) Partial
Timahoe Castles
A 12th century motte and a stone towerhouse.

S 5390
Timahoe Round Tower
Round Tower

Watercastle Full

55 -- Entries Listed

Go to another County
Antrim Armagh Carlow Cavan Clare Cork Derry Donegal
Down Dublin Fermanagh Galway Kerry Kildare Kilkenny Laois
Leitrim Limerick Longford Louth Mayo Meath Monaghan Offaly
Roscommon Sligo Tipperary Tyrone Waterford Wicklow Westmeath Wexford

Ireland's History in Maps Home Page
            Contact Information                        

You are the [an error occurred while processing this directive] visitor, since February 2007