County Kilkenny Ireland - Barony and Civil Parish Map Maps
Barony and Civil Parish Map of County Kilkenny

County Kilkenny is located in southern Leinster Province in Ireland. Including the area around Kilkenny City there are eleven Baronies noted on the map above. In the 13th and 14th centuries, Kilkenny was divided into twelve Cantreds roughly based on Gaelic family territories or "tuaths". These were restructured into the later baronies of the county, which were used as administrative units up to the 19th century. Baronies and Civil Parishes were used as administrative divisions and are useful to genealogical research in Ireland.
In addition to the cities and towns listed on the map, Kilkenny includes a large number of Townlands which can be reviewed at this Townland Index by Barony.

Return to Administrative Divisions.