Hosted websites will become read-only beginning in early 2024. At that time, all logins will be disabled, but hosted sites will remain on RootsWeb as static content. Website owners wishing to maintain their sites must migrate to a different hosting provider before 2024 (More info)
County Dublin , IrelandGenWeb Project


Dublin (county and county borough, Republic of Ireland) in Leinster Province, adjoining the Irish Sea. The terrain is generally flat, except in the extreme southern portion, which contains the northern extremities of the Wicklow Mountains. The county coastline, about 113 km (about 70 mi) long, is indented by a number of creeks and bays, notably Dublin Bay, formed by Howth Head on the north. Dublin Bay receives the waters of the Liffey River, the only stream of consequence in the county. Several islands, including Lambay and Ireland's Eye, are attached to the county for administrative purposes. The county has numerous small farms, the chief products of which are cattle, oats, and potatoes. The fishing industry is important, producing valuable catches of salmon, brill, cod, haddock, sole, plaice, and oysters. Industrial production is confined largely to Dublin, capital of the Republic of Ireland and county town and chief seaport of the county. Among the principal towns are D™n Laoghaire, Balbriggan, and Skerries. In 1985, Dublin County was subdivided into three new electoral counties: Dublin-Belgard, Dublin-Fingal, and D™n Laoghaire-Rathdown. Area, 922 sq km (356 sq mi); population (1991) 1,025,304.

Dublin (city, Republic of Ireland) (Gaelic Baile Ątha Cliath, “Town of the Ford of the Hurdles“), capital, county borough, and seaport of the Republic of Ireland, county town of county Dublin, in Leinster Province. It is at the mouth of the Liffey River, on Dublin Bay, an inlet of the Irish Sea. The city is linked by ship services with Cork, Ireland; Belfast, Northern Ireland; and various ports in England, Scotland, and France. It is also served by railroads that provide connections with important points in Ireland. From the Encarta 98 Encyclopedia

County Dublin Surnames

Aungier, Barnwall, Begg, Bermingham, Bissett, Brien, Byrne, Cappoc, Casey, Connor, Donoghue, Doyle, Early, Farrell, Field, Fynes, Hall, Hand, Harford, Hatch, Kavanagh, Kelly, Kettle, Lowndes, Maypother, Murphy, Neill, Orange, Phelmer/Felmer, Savage, Seagrave, Sherwin, Talbot, Taylor, Toole

County Dublin Parish Names

Dublin City, Fingal, South Dublin,Dun Laoghaire, Rathdown

Civic Addresses

Office of the General Register
Joyce House
8-11 Lombard Street
Dublin 2, Ireland

National Archives of Ireland
Bishop Street
Dublin 8, Ireland

National Library of Ireland
Kildare Street
Dublin 2, Ireland

Ordnance Survey Office
Phoenix Park
Dublin 8, Ireland

Registry of Deeds
King's Inn
Henrietta Street
Dublin 7, Ireland
For: Land deeds since 1708.

Representative Church Body Library
Braemor Park
Dublin 14, Ireland

State Paper Office
Dublin Castle
Dublin 2, Ireland

Valuation Office
6 Ely Place
Dublin 2, Ireland


Irish Genealogy


Dublin Families (Genealogy Websites)

Reddan Family

Associations and Societies

The Dublin Genealogical Society
2 Kildare Street
Dublin 2, Ireland

Dublin Heritage Group (Dublin City)
2nd Floor
Cumberland House
Fenian Street
Dublin 2
Republic of Ireland
Telephone +353 1 6619000
Contact: Alastair Smeaton

Dun Laoghaire Heritage Centre(Dublin South, a paid site)

Fingal Heritage Group (Dublin North)


Links to Online Information

Mailing List(s)

County Dublin Mailing List

Dublin City Mailing List

Archives - Online Records

Queries and Surname Resources


This site is part of the non-profit resource project called The IrelandGenWeb.
We are also part of the Ireland and United KingdomGenWeb and WorldGenWeb Projects.    

A Proud Member of the WorldGenWeb Family

* * iukgenwebbutton.gif (4052 bytes) * wgw_c100.jpg

County Dublin Coordinator:

Mary Ann Lubinsky

Special Thanks to our previous coordinators: 
Carol Hepburn, Jan Cortez and Bonnie Walsh

© 2016 County Dublin, IrelandGenWeb Project.

Updated 16 November 2016