Marion County History

Marion County, Indiana was created by an act of legislation on December 31, 1821
and began its existence on April 22, 1822. Indianapolis is the county seat
as well as the state capitol. The county is divided into nine townships;
Pike, Washington, Lawrence, Wayne, Center, Warren, Decatur, Perry, and Franklin.

Marion County was named for Brigadier General Francis Marion. He was an American
Revolutionary War hero, nicknamed "Swamp Fox" by British for
disrupting their plans with his outstanding guerilla
warfare tactics from his base in swamps.

Towns and Communities in Marion County
Acton Allisonville Augusta Avalon Hills Beech Grove Ben Davis Bottoms
Brendonwood Bricktown Bridgeport Brightwood Broadmoor Broad Ripple Brooklyn Heights
Bucktown Camby Castleton Chapel Hill Clermont Cotton Town Crows Nest
Cumberland Devon Dogberry Row Drexel Gardens Eagledale Edgewood Fairwood Hills
Five Points Gallaudet Station Germantown Glendale Glenn's Valley Grandview Haughville
Highwoods Hunter's Station Indianapolis Irish Hill Irvington Ivy Hills Julietta
Keystone Manor Kinderhook Lawrence Legendary Hills Lindenwood Lynhurst Malott Park
Mapleton Mars Hill Maywood Mechanicsburg Millersville Meridian Hills Mitchell Station
Mount Jackson Mount Pleasant New Augusta New Bethel Nora Northwood Oak Hill
Oakland Oaklandon Pat Ward's Bottoms Poplar Grove Ravenswood Rocky Ripple Sabine
Snacks Southport Speedway Spring Hills Stratford Sunshine Gardens Trader's Alley
Traders Point Tremont Valley Mills Vertland Wanamaker Warren Hills Warren Park
Waterloo Station West Indianapolis West Newton Wildcat Chute Williams Creek Windsor Village Wynnedale

RETURN TO Marion County INGenWeb