You Are Here > Home


Not all are clickable. Put curser on icon for some and you will see my username.

Diigo Indiana graphic

Add Me!


Thank you for visiting. Please return often.

Welcome to Jackson County, Indiana

Jackson County Courthouse in Brownstown, Indiana.

Welcome to Jackson County! Jackson County was organized in 1812. It was named after General Andrew Jackson, the 7th President of the United States. Fort Vallonia was the first county seat, but was later moved to Brownstown. Brownstown remains the county seat today. The county is divided into 12 Townships which are; Brownstown, Carr, Driftwood, Grassy Fork, Hamilton, Jackson, Owen, Pershing, Redding, Salt Creek, Vernon and Washington.

It's neighboring counties are; Bartholomew, Brown, Jennings, Lawrence and Washington.

Cities, towns and unincorporated places: Acme, Brownstown, Clearspring, Crothersville, Courtland, Freetown, Kurtz, Medora, Seymour, Uniontown and Vallonia.

There are Indiana counties that are in need of adoption. If you are interested you can go to the Indiana TTTP site or to the main site of Trails To The Past. For FAQ information go to the Midwest North District of the Trails to the Past Project. There are states and counties throughout the U.S. looking for administrators. It is a great way to volunteer! You may submit data if you do not have the time to host a county or state. Your help will be greatly appreciated!

What's New!

1940 Indiana Census

~free at FamilySearch!

Tuesday, 11-Sep-2018 06:51:18 MDT