Portrait and Biographical Album of Des Moines, Iowa - M

Des Moines County >> 1888 Index

Portrait and Biographical Album of Des Moines County, Iowa
Chicago: Acme Publishing, 1888.


Clark Marbl, attorney at law, of Burlington, Iowa, and a member of the Board of Commissioners of the Insane for Des Moines County, has been a resident of this county since 1855.  He was born in Worthington, Hampshire Co., Mass., July 4, 1825, and is the son of Asa and Silence (Clark) Marble, both of whom were natives of Massachusetts, and his two grandfathers were soldiers of the Revolutionary War.  Our subject was educated at Northampton High School and Williston Seminary, of Easthampton, and in 1853 removed to Princeton, Ky., where he spent two years in the mercantile business and studying law with his brother, Hon. Sumner Marble.  He came to Iowa in 1855, locating in Burlington, where he continued his law studies with T. D. Crocker, now of Cleveland, Ohio, and was admitted to the bar in 1859, since which time, with the exception of a few years, he has been in active practice of his profession.  In politics Mr. Marble is a Republican, and has been called to fill various official positions, having served as Deputy Recorder and Treasurer of Des Moines County, was Justice four years, Notary nine years, and for nearly twenty years has been a member of the Board of Commissioners of Insanity.

 Mr. Marble was thrice married, first on Jan. 1, 1849, to Miss Catherine T. Pomeroy, who died March 4, 1857, and five children were born of their marriage, none of whom are living.  He was again united in marriage, the second time in July, 1857, to Miss Mattie C. Gilbert, by whom he had four children, three of whom are living:  Lillie is the wife of Frank S. Greer, of Wayne County, Iowa; Fannie is the wife of William Owens, of Burlington; Fred is a mechanical engineer.  The mother of these children died April 26, 1873, when Mr. Marble was again married, April 30, 1877, to Mrs. Lucy A. Searle, widow of William R. Searle, of Massachusetts.  Mrs. Marble was accidentally killed Oct. 28, 1887, leaving three children by her former marriage:  William I. Searle, of Westfield; Elbert H., and Fred C. Searle, of Worcester, Mass.  Mr. Marble is one of the oldest members of the Des Moines County bar, has been faithful and competent in the discharge of official duty, and is held in high esteem by his fellow-citizens.

Dr. D. McMillan Marshall, one of the prominent practicing physicians of Burlington, Iowa, was born in Fairfield County, S. C., Dec. 19, 1819, and is the son of Alexander and Mary (McMillan) Marshall, also natives of the same county.  Alexander Marshall was a soldier in the War of 1812, and received a land warrant for his services.  He was the father of seven children, six sons and a daughter:  Robert, a prominent farmer of Henderson County, Ill.; Jane, wife of Isaiah J. Brook, of Blue Mound, Kan.; the subject of our sketch; John, a farmer of Henderson County, Ill.; James, also a farmer residing in the same county; Hugh, a practicing physician of Monmouth, Ill., a graduate of Rush Medical College, Chicago; and William, a retired farmer of Biggsville, Ill.  Alexander Marshall and family were among the early settlers of Henderson County, locating there in 1837.  The country was one vast wilderness and their nearest neighbor was ten miles away.  Here he made his claim and developed a farm, upon which he and his good wife spent the remainder of their lives.  Mr. Marshall died in April, 1864, and Mrs. Marshall in August, 1873.  They were reared in the faith of Old School Presbyterians, but after coming to Illinois they joined the United Presbyterian Church.  They were people highly respected for their honest and upright lives.

The subject of this sketch received a liberal education in the district schools of Henderson County, Ill., and at the age of twenty-two entered the office of Dr. William McMillan, an uncle at Biggsville, remaining with him for four years, and in the meantime attending lectures at the St. Louis Medical College.  He completed his medical studies, receiving his degree from Rush Medical College, of Chicago, March 20, 1856.  The same year Dr. Marshall settled at Warren, Henderson Co., Ill., remaining there until 1874. That year he went South, being the year of the cholera epidemic.  On returning to the North he settled in Burlington, Iowa, where he is still in practice.  He has been practicing for thirty-nine years.  The Doctor is a member of the Des Moines Medical Association, and although on the shady side of life takes an active interest in his profession.

In 1852 Dr. Marshall was united in marriage with Elizabeth Trimble, a daughter of Alexander Trimble, of Henderson County, Ill.  Mrs. Marshall departed this life in 1880.  She was a sincere Christian, and a member of the Old School Presbyterian Church.  Politically, Dr. Marshall is an out-spoken Democrat.

On the preceding page will be found an excellent portrait of the Doctor, which will be appreciated by hundreds of the good people of Des Moines County.

J. B. Martelle, dental surgeon, of Burlington, Iowa, was born in New York City on the 1st of January, 1837, and is a son of John B. and Mary A. (Dorion) Martelle, the former a native of Quebec, born in 1817, the latter born in Montreal in 1820.  The emigrated to New York City in 1836, and there our subject grew to manhood, receiving a liberal education.  At the age of fifteen he commenced to study dentistry with his uncle, Henry Dorion, and was in his employ until 1858, the uncle being under the instruction of Dr. Howe, one of the most noted dentists of New York.  Henry Dorion first located in Brooklyn, there forming a partnership with Dr. Woods, but later removed to New York, where he engaged in business with Dr. Parmaly.  In 1856 he went to Chicago, and there established the first dental depot in the city, in connection with Dr. Post, there being then but four dentists in that place at the time.

Dr. Martelle went to Chicago, where he was in the employ of his uncle, but returned to New York in 1858, forming a partnership with Dr. Peck.  At the breaking out of the Civil War he enlisted in the 71st New York Militia, and the regiment of which he was a member was the third to report for duty at Washington.  He participated in the famous battle of Bull Run, and the time of service having expired two days previous, there was a vote taken by the regiment whether or not to re-enlist, and every man again volunteered.  At one time he was taken prisoner, but succeeded in escaping.  After leaving the army Mr. Martelle again assumed the practice of his profession in New York until 1869, when he again located in Chicago, and two years later came to Burlington, where he has since engaged in the practice of his profession. Dr. Martelle was united in marriage, in New York City, with Miss Mary Bowers in 1869, and three children grace their union.  He is a member of the A. O. U. W.  The Doctor is a man of more than ordinary ability, of fine address, and has a thorough knowledge of his profession.  His practice is very large and constantly increasing.

Daniel Matson, residing on section 20, Yellow Spring Township, was born in Hull, England, March 18, 1842, and his father, Joseph Matson, was born in 1809, of a family most of whom were sailors.  Joseph served his apprenticeship on board a Greenland whaler, and rose, step by step, through the various grades to the rank of Captain, and commanded a vessel engaged in the Baltic and Mediterranean trades. Daniel Matson, the subject of this sketch and an only child, in his early boyhood accompanied his father in his voyages, visiting Archangel and St. Petersburg in Russia, Keil, Copenhagen, Stockholm and other foreign ports, besides many places in England, and which were Yarmouth, Shields and Liverpool.  In September, 1849, the death of Mr. Matson's mother occured, breaking up the happy home of his childhood.  His father then placed him under the care of an aunt, sailing, in the spring of 1850, for Constantinople and Odessa, returning home in the autumn of that year, and in April, 1851, embarked as a passenger at Liverpool on the ship "John Tool," accompanied by his son, arriving in New Orleans about the middle of May.  He here took passage for St. Louis on the steamer "James Hewitt," but when near Memphis, Tenn., was taken sick with cholera.  Realizing that his end was near, he called his boy to his side and told him that he was going to lose his father, and that he would be left among strangers in a strange land.  "Who will care for me, father?" asked the broken-hearted child.  "God will care for you my boy," was the answer.  Climbing up into the berth, the boy twined his arms around the neck of the dying father, and cried himself to sleep. Hours later they were found, the father cold and stiff in death, with the sleeping boy upon his breast.  His remains were interred on the Tennessee shore, near the site of Ft. Pillow, May 31, 1851.  A stranger on the boat took charge of Daniel.  Not being permitted to land at St. Louis on account of the cholera, they were transferred to the steamer "Fleetwood," and continued up the river to Burlington, Iowa, where they landed early in June.  This stranger, John Holland by name, with his charge, took lodgings at the Burlington House.  He began to sell off the clothing and other effects of the father, and young Daniel, on asking what it meant, received for a reply, "I am going to take you back to England, and want to turn these things into money."  Mr. Matson's suspicions were thus allayed, but he awoke one morning to find himself robbed of everything, even to his own clothing, deserted and homeless. For two days and nights he was on the streets of Burlington with no other shelter but the blue canopy of heaven, and no food but that given by the hand of charity.  A friendly hand came to his relief, and after a temporary residence with two or three families, he was in January, 1852, providentially directed to the home of a Mr. Rankin, living near Kossuth, Des Moines Co., Iowa.  These kind people were good, old-fashioned Pennsylvania Presbyterians, and at their home Daniel imbibed those principles of head and heart that have very largely governed his subsequent life.  After a residence of six years in that family, during which he worked upon the farm in summer and attended the district school in winter, Daniel matson started out in life for himself at the age of sixteen years.  Leaving the friendly roof with a parting benediction from those kind people, he trudged away without a cent of money in his pockets, carrying all his worldly possessions tied up in a cotton handkerchief.  Engaging work of a neighboring farmer, he there received $8 per month, and from that time until the end of the year 1859 we find him working wherever and at whatever he could find to do, carefully saving his earnings.

In January, 1860, Daniel started to school at Yellow Spring College, with the determination of graduating and takin up a profession, and the breaking out of war in 1861 found him diligently pursuing his studies; but April 22, 1861, he recited his last lesson, and the next day, eleven days after the firing on Ft. Sumter, he enlisted as a private in the Burlington Zouaves, Company E, First Iowa Infantry.  He was with this regiment through its trying experience during the campaign in Missouri in the summer of 1861, under the lamented Lyon.  Being discharged at St. Louis, by reason of the expiration of his term of enlistment, he returned home and re-enlisted as a private in Company K, 14th Iowa Infantry, Oct. 17, 1861, and was made Second Sergeant.  He was with this regiment in the expedition against Fts. Henry and Donelson under Gen. Grant, in February, 1862:  took part in engagements on the 13th and 14th at Donelson, and participated in the grand assault on the left the following afternoon, when the brigade to which he belonged, the 4th of the 2d Division, led by the gallant Generals C. F. Smith and Lauman, planted their colors on the works and won the key to the rebel stronghold.  Mr. Matson was with his regiment at Shiloh, and was one of that band of Iowa men, belonging to the 8th, 12th and 14th regiments, who held the "Hornet's Nest" all through that bloody Sunday, April 6, against every effort of hte enemy to dislodge them.  At 6 P. M., surrounded by ten times their number, they surrendered and became prisoners of war.  Says a historian, "The noble sacrifice of these men made the victory of the next day to the Union arms possible."  The sufferings and privations endured during an imprisonment of six months and thirteen days is the oft-told story of starvation and inhuman treatment endured by the thousands of Union soldiers who were incarcerated in rebel prison pens during the war.  Mr. Matson was confined in Memphis, Tenn., Mobile and Cahaba, Ala., Macon, Ga., and in the Libby Prison in Richmond, Va., and one out of every four of their number died.  He was paroled at Aikin's landing on the James River, Oct. 16, 1862.  His regiment re-organized again in December at St. Louis, Mo., and was sent to Rolla in that State, to take part against Marmaduke, but returned in a few days to St. Louis, embarking for Vicksburg in February, 1863.  Arriving at Cairo, Ill., they were ordered to do garrison duty at this point and at Columbus, Ky.  On the 29th of October, 1863, Mr. Matson was discharged from the 14th Iowa and mustered into the 4th United States Colored Heavy Artillery, as First Lieutenant, in January, 1864, being assigned to duty on the staff of Col. W. H. Lawrence, U.S.A., commanding post at Columbus, Ky.  Returning to his regiment, he was assigned to duty as Adjutant in July, 1864, which duty he performed until promoted to the rank of Captain, Oct. 7, 1864. During that winter he served as Post Adjutant at Columbus, Ky., and in the spring and early summer of 1865 participated in a number of expeditions in Western Tennessee and Western Kentucky against small detachments of rebels, who invaded the country for the purpose of plunder.  This service was often arduous, imposing extreme exposure.  In July, 1865, our subject took command of Union City, Tenn., with two companies, guarding the railroad against armed bands who were on marauding expeditions through the country and assisting the civil authorities in restoring order.  In September he was assigned to duty as  Acting Assistant Adjutant-General of the District of Western Kentucky; in December was attached to the staff of Major-General J. S. Brisben, of the States Volunteers, at Louisville, Ky., and accompanied that General to Little Rock, Ark., where he spent the winter of 1865-6. He was recommended to the War Department for a commission as Major, but before the promotion came orders were issued to muster out, Feb. 25, 1866, and he reached Burlington on the 3d of March following, having served almost five years.

In October, 1866, Mr. Matson purchased a small farm in Yellow Spring Township, comprising ninety acres, since which time he has been engaged in general farming and stock-raising, to which he has given considerable attention, and has done his share toward improving the stock of the county, having some fine horses.  He has now a large farm having added more land to the original purchase as the years advanced.

July 31, 1866, Mr. Matson was united in marriage with Miss Mary H. Chapman, daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Pollock) Chapman, both natives of Westmoreland County, Pa.  They came from that State to Des Moines County, Iowa, in 1843, living near Burlington for several years, when they removed to Lee County for a short time, returning to Des Moines County in 1849, settling in Huron Township, on section 34, about three miles east of Kossuth.  Joseph Chapman died September 3, 1861, his widow residing on and carrying on the farm until 1869, when she sold it and thereafter lived with her children until her death, which occurred April 14, 1878, in Plattsmouth, Neb., at the residence of her son, Samuel M.  Mr. Chapman was a leading citizen of the county, and was for many years a Justice of the Peace, an important office in the new country.  He filled the position with great credit to himself, and to the entire satisfaction of his fellow-citizens.  He was known as a peacemaker, and labored earnestly with would-be litigants, trying to make peaceable settlement instead of bringing suit, preferring peace among neighbors to his own financial benefit.  In politics he was an anti-slavery Whig, and on the birth of the Republican party took an active part in its formation in Des Moines County.  He was a prominent member of the Presbyterian Church in Kossuth and also manifested great interest in educational matters in his locality, giving the weight of his influence and contributing liberally of his means for the advancement of the schools of his township.  Mrs. Chapman was in many respects a remarkable woman.  Devotedly attached to her family, she brought her children up in an earnest Christian spirit.  In her care for the spiritual and temporal wants she labored beyond her strength, often when ill, concealing the fact from them to save them uneasiness.  Her charity was unbounded, and much of her time was occupied ministering to the poor and needy.  Of her it might truly be said:  "Of such is the Kingdom of Heaven."

Mr. and Mrs Matson are the parents of six children, all yet under the parental roof.  They are named:  Susannah, Elizabeth, Jane Chapman, Joseph, John Archie and Samuel Barclay.

In the spring of 1868 Mr. Matson united with the First Presbyterian Church of Kossuth, and in November, 1881, was chosen Ruling Elder.  He says, "My Heavenly Father has verified his promise to care for the orphan in my case."  Mr. Matson is a charter member of Sheppard Post, No. 157, G. A. R., and was Commander in 1886.  He is a sincere lover of his soldier comrades and an ardent Republican, and takes an active part in the political affairs of the neighborhood.  Though not an office-seeker he has held several township offices, and is justly held in high esteem by all who know him.

It is with pleasure that we present the portrait of this representative citizen of Des Moines County.  A truly self-made man, his career is one in which he and his family can take just pride, and his success is the legimate reward of a life of integrity and a reliance upon the love of his Heavenly Father.

William H. Mauro, Sr., a highly respected pioneer merchant of Burlington, of 1839, was born in Washington, D. C., Aug. 29, 1806, and is a son of Philip and Elizabeth (Ott) Mauro. His father was a native of Stuttgart, Wurtemburg, Germany, and emigrated to America in his youth. His mother was born in Philadelphia, of German parentage. Our subject was brought up to mercantile pursuits, and having attained his majority, engaged in that line of business. He came to Burlington, Iowa, in October, 1839, and opened a general store at this place, which he carried on successfully, increasing his business as the country and town grew in population. He continued in active business till 1865, since which time he has lived a retired life.

Mr. Mauro has been twice married, first in Washington, D. C., in 1832, to Miss Eliza Wharton, by whom he had one child, a daughter, named Mary, now the wife of Mark S. Foote, of Burlington. His present wife, to whom he was married June 21, 1841. was Miss Elizabeth Sappington, daughter of John and Sarah (Wells) Sappington. Mrs. Mauro was born in St. Louis County, Mo., where her people were among the early pioneers. Mr. and Mrs. Mauro had a family of six children, two daughters and four sons: Thomas C., the eldest, married Miss Fannie Starr, daughter of W. H. Starr, Esq., and resides in Ottumwa, Iowa, where he is connected with the White Breast Coal Company; John P. married Miss Julia Baker, now deceased, and is a farmer of St. Louis County, Mo.; Eliza W. resides with her parents; William H., Jr., is the senior partner of Mauro & Wilson, wholesale and retail dealers in books, stationery, wall-paper, etc., of Burlington, Iowa; Charles G. is book-keeper in the Iowa State Savings Bank, of Burlington; Sarah E., the youngest member of the family, resides with her parents.

In early life Mr. Mauro was an enthusiastic Whig in his political views, later he became a Republican, and still votes with that party. He united with the Episcopal Church in early life, and his wife and children are members of the same society. Mr. Mauro is now in his eighty-second year, but hale and hearty, and in full possession of all his faculties. He lives in quiet retirement at his pleasant residence, No. 702 Columbia street, surrounded by his family, and in the enjoyment of the kindly regard and high esteem of a large circle of friends and acquaintances. He is the oldest Odd Fellow in the State of Iowa.

Martin Clark McArthur, a prominent business man of Burlington, and a resident of the city since November, 1856, was born in Otsego County, N. Y., Sept. 16, 1831, and is the son of John and Elizabeth (Louden) McArthur. His father emigrated from Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1812, settling in New York State, and his paternal grandfather, the Rev. John McArthur, was banished from his native land for preaching doctrines antagonistic to the established church and the prevailing religious belief. A change in the administraion occurring soon after the vessel on which he was being transported had set sail, the order of banishment was revoked, and a fleet Government vessel was dispatched to overtake and bring him back. He returned, but his spirit demanding freedom that the intolerance of the day would not brook, he turned his back upon his native land to seek a refuge in the new country beyond the sea. The voyage, which was made in a sailing-vessel, was long and tempestuous, and so great were the privations endured that the grandmother expired at sight of the first land, it is said, from joy thereat. Rev. McArthur worked his way westward as far as Tompkins County, N. Y., where, with the remainder of his family, he settled in the small village of Etna near Ithaca. He built a house, containing a large room, in which he preached the doctrines he so loved to teach, and thus spent the remainder of his days, his death occurring in his ninety-second year. John McArthur, the father of our subject, married Elizabeth Louden, of old Dutch parentage, and of a proud ancestry, her father having borne his part in the Revolution with zeal and distinction under Gen. Israel Putnam. For many years Mr. McArthur conducted a general merchandising business at Ithaca, N. Y., and established one of the first fleet of boats on Cayuga Lake, upon which Ithaca is situated. He was accidentally killed by a railway train while crossing the track. Martin C. McArthur was early trained to mercantile pursuits in his father's store, after whose death he was employed for several years in New York City, where he supported and educated a sister to whom he was greatly attached. Her untimely death caused him to resolve to turn westward. Following up this resolution, in 1853 he went to Chicago, Ill., and there was in the employ of the American Express Company, where by close application and attention to the duties devolving upon him, he gradually gained the confidence and esteem of the managers of the company, so that when the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad was completed to Burlington, Iowa, he was entrusted with the responsible task of opening up the company's new lines, establishing agencies, and the general management of the company's affairs in what now comprises the States of Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska and Missouri, with headquarters at Burlington. This was in November, 1856. For twelve successive years Mr. McArthur served the company in the above capacity, extending its branches in all directions, and laying the foundation for the company's present stronghold in the Northwestern States. In 1868 Mr. McArthur wevered his connection with the express company, and embarked in the wholesale notion business, in partnership with L. H. Dalhoff. The firm prospered beyond all expectations, but he was not yet entirely weaned from his early avocation, to which he after a year returned, remaining with the express company until 1880, having been in their service, at the time of his last and final retirement, for a period of twenty-six years. At this time his private interests were of such importance as to employ his full time and attention. The remainder of Mr. McArthur's business career was a very busy and successful one, and many and diversified were the channels through which his ability and energy showed itself. In 1881 he was induced by an old friend and practical railroad builder, J. W. Barnes, to join with him in assuming the contract to build 100 miles of road for the Toledo, Cincinnati & St. Louis Railroad, running through Indiana and Illinois. Relying on his friend Barnes to manage and conduct the construction of the same, he signed the contract. However, Mr. Barnes died shortly after the work was commenced, and Mr. McArthur, with no experience in railroad building, bound to the execution of a contract by a heavy bond, was left to complete the same, which he did to the satisfaction of the company and to his own profit. No other example will probably illustrate his character and business ability better than this. It was only by force of his indomitable will and push that he was enabled to carry the staggering load that was at that time thrown upon him, and the months that he spent in the Indiana swamps made such impress on his physical health that he has never been able to shake it off.

Mr. McArthur has at all times been prominently identified with the growth and progress of Burlington, ever ready to lend his brains and money to the advancement of his city and its institutions. For years he held a seat in the City Council when it was esteemed an honor to do so, there showing the same fidelity and zealous, painstaking industry which have characterized his walk through private life. He was instrumental in securing and building the West Hill Street Railroad, was the largest stockholder in the same and its first President. He furthur organized and was for many years President of the Centennial and Home Life Insurance Companies during the period of their greatest prosperity and usefulness. One of its organizers, Mr. McArthur was for years a Director of the Merchants' National Bank, of Burlington. He is one of the largest original stockholders in the beautiful Grand Opera House, one of the finest theaters in the United States, and at one time he owned and operated a flour and feed mill on Main street, where the Prospect House now is. Mr. McArthur's business life has been most truly a successful one. For some years past an affliction of the eyesight has compelled him to withdraw from all participation in active business, and he lives in quiet retirement at his beautiful home, "Ingleside," on West Hill.

On the 22d of December, 1858, Mr. McArthur wedded Virginia, daugher of Hon. John L. and Sarah (Murray) Corse, pioneers of 1842. Mrs. McArthur is a woman of strong religious and charitable instincts, her charity being dispensed in that quiet and unostentatious manner that proves it of the heart. In her the poor of Burlington have long recognized a friend, and her friends a hospitable, kindly housewife, of a type too rarely found. Three children bless their union: William Corse, born July 22, 1860, at Burlington, attended the Chicago University in 1877-78, graduated from Cornell University at Itahaca, N. Y., with the class of '81, and after spending a year in the Columbia Law School, in New York City, was admitted to the bar at Burlington in June, 1882, and in May of the same year married Miss Harriette Grant Hanmer, of Syracuse, N. Y.; Murray Adams, the second son, was also born at Burlington, June 8, 1864, received his education in the public schools and Burlington University, married Miss Daisy Strickland, of Burlington, Oct. 5, 1886, and is successfully engaged in business; Arthur, the youngest son, was born June 27, 1866, at "Ingleside," in Burlington, and still resides with his parents.

In Mr. McArthur we recognize that type of pioneer business men whose industry and integrity have given the great impetus to all this northwestern country that has brought about a development unparalleled in the history of civilization, and he and those who have labored like him have left an indelible impress on the age of their activity.

William D. McCash

Prominent among the few of the pioneers of Burlington now living is William D. McCash. He is a native of Hamilton County, Ohio, where he was born Jan. 25, 1813. His father was William McCash, a native of Glasgow, Scotland, who came to the United States with his parents in 1785, when he was about two years of age. His parents settled in Cincinnati in 1795, where they spent the remainder of their lives, the father following the occupation of a farmer, and residing for sixty-five years on one farm, about six miles from Cincinnati, dying in the eighty-eighth year of his age. Mr. McCash's mother was a native of Virginia, born of English parents, her father being from Sheffield, England.

The early years of our subject were spent on the home farm until he was sixteen years of age, when he went to Cincinnati to learn the carpenter's trade. His limited school education was acquired in attending a night school in Cincinnati, when serving his apprenticeship. After learning his trade, he spent a few years in Cincinnati, Ohio, and Vicksburg, Miss., bur did not devote his entire attention to this occupation, as he was much of the time engaged in speculating in real estate, and making other speculative investments, in most of which he was successful. About 1835, he became a resident of St. Louis, Mo., where he resided three years, working at his trade a couple of years and keeping a livery stable the remainder of the time. In August, 1838, Mr. McCash came to Burlington at the solicitation of his friends, bought property, and then returned to St. Louis to bring his family. His intention on coming here was to engage in farming, and with this purpose in view he made a tour through the country as far as Mt. Pleasant, but finding only three settlers between Burlington and that place, he abandoned the idea of becoming a farmer. Soon after his arrival here, he rented a feed barn and gradually worked himself into the livery business, in which he was engaged until 1869. In 1847 he built the brick building on Third street, opposite the Barrett House, which was afterward used as a Baptist Church, Court House, and for other public purposes. In connection with his livery business, at various times, Mr. McCash carried on the manufacture of carriages, wagons and sleighs, making the first buggy ever constructed in the city. This branch of business was continued until the breaking out of the late Civil War, when his employes all left to join the Union Army. In 1870 he sold out his livery business and invested the proceeds in buildings. Owing to failing health he visited California in 1874 in the hope of regaining his strength. Since that time, he has visited the Golden State ten times, always in quest of health, though he has made several profitable investments, and though for some years an invalid, he has by no means been idle. Being from early life an industrious and active business man, he has, most of his time, been engaged in some legitimate business pursuits, and has succeeded in acquiring a competence, enabling him to spend the evening of his life in ease and contentment.

In his earlier years Mr. McCash was a Democrat, but on the breaking out of the Civil War, he was a strong Union man and gave two of his sons to the service. He espoused the cause of the Republican party, and has since been an active supporter of its principles. He never sought public distinction, but has served as Alderman of the city for a number of years, and was for several years a member of the Board of County Supervisors. Mr. McCash has been a member of the I. O. O. F. since March 13, 1835, joined Washington Lodge, No. 4, at Cincinnati; was also one of the charter members of Washington Lodge, No. 1, of Iowa, and was for a number of years prominently identified with it; and has been a member of the Masonic order since 1863.

Mr. McCash has been twice married. On the 2d of March, 1837, at St. Louis, Mo., he married Miss Sarah Ferguson, of Prince Edward County, Va., by whom he had four children, two of whom are now living: William F., now a resident of Colorado, and Eleanor, now the wife of Frank M. Bowman, of Walla Walla, W. T. Mrs. McCash died in 1845, and he married the second time, in March, 1846, to Miss Mary Long, a daughter of Daniel and Hester Long. She was born in New Haven, Hamilton County, Ohio, and by this marriage six children were born, two sons and four daughters: Cyreneus L., now an extensive farmer of Van Buren County, Iowa; Charles A., a practicing physician at San Francisco, Cal.; Mary B., wife of N. R. Derby, of Burlington; Adda L., deceased; Cora A. and Grace L. The family are consistent members of the Presbyterian Church, and respected members of the community in which they reside. A resident of Burlington for almost half a century, Mr. McCash has not only witnessed its growth and development, but has contributed much to that end. Until health failed, he was active in almost every enterprise for the public good; and even since then, he has not been entirely idle, for, as already stated, while on the Pacific coast he made several investments and devoted no inconsiderable time to active business. He is one of the kind believing in the old motto that "it is better to wear out than to rust out." The example of such a man is well worthy of imitation by the rising generation, and all should delight to do him and all such the honor that is their due. An excellent portrait of this old pioneer will be found upon another page.

Rev. John Calvin McClintock, D. D., Pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Burlington, Iowa, since January, 1871, is a native of Pennsylvania, born at Carmichael, Greene County, Aug. 20, 1843, and his parents, Rev. John and Mary (Orr) McClintock, are natives of Washington, Pa. His father is a distinguished minister of the Presbyterian Church, and has served his present congregation, New Providence, Carmichael, Pa., for fifty years. Rev. McClintock, Sr., was born in 1807, in Pennsylvania, and his father, William McClintock, was a native of the North of Ireland, who emigrated to this country prior to the Revolution and settled in Pennsylvania. James Orr, the maternal grandfather, was descended from an old Pennsylvania family, and removed from Chambersburg to Washington in 1798.

Our subject graduated at Washington College, Pa., in the class of '62, was a student of the Western Theological Seminary until 1865, and then came to Iowa to accept the position of pastor of the Presbyterian Church, of Mt. Pleasant, serving his congregation with ability and fidelity until January, 1871, when he accepted the pastorate of the First Presbyterian Church of Burlington, and for seventeen years has constantly grown in favor with his present charge. Rev. J. C. McClintock was one of the charter members of the Board of Trustees, of Parsons College, Fairfield, Iowa, was instrumental in the establishment of that institution, and has maintained his connection with it to the present time, being a member of the existing Board of Trustees. The degree of Doctor of Divinity was conferred on Mr. McClintock, by Monmouth College, Ill., in 1886. While not an active participant, Mr. McClintock has always given his adherence and support to the Republican party.

On the 4th of October, 1865, at Washington, Pa., Rev. J. C. McClintonck was united in marriage with Miss Mary E. McKean, daughter of Thomas and Fannie J. (Snodgrass) McKean. Mrs. McClintock is a native of Washington, Pa., and four children were born of their union, all sons--Paul W., William M., John Thomas and Calvin Terry. The two elder were born in Mt. Pleasant, the younger in Burlington, Iowa.

Isaac N. McClure is a senior member of the firm of I. N. McClure & Co., dealers in general merchandise, Mediapolis, Iowa. The business was established in 1869 by W. H. Cartwright, who continued it one year and then sold out to Brown & Roberts, who were in partnership three years, when the latter retired, and Mr. McClure soon afterward entered the firm, which was known as Brown & McClure, the partnership continuing until March 4, 1887. Mr. Brown then sold his interest, and Mr. Roberts again came into the firm, which is now known as I. N. McClure & Co. The building occupied by this firm is two stories in height, 40x75, with an addition of 20x30 feet. A stock of about $22,000 worth is carried, and the business transacted is one of which many more pretentious houses in larger cities might well be proud. The firm carries all the line usually found in a first-class general store, including everything except hardware and drugs, with special departments for the sale of clothing, wall-paper and crockery, and employs fine salesman.

I. N. McClure is a native of Des Moines County, born Feb. 1, 1844, and is a son of William and Cynthia (Evans) McClure, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania. For some years they resided in Highland County, Ohio, from which place in 1837 they removed to Illinois, remaining in that State until 1839, when they came to Des Moines County, Iowa, and located in Yellow Spring Township. Here William McClure entered Government land, improved a farm, and made his home until 1846, when he removed with his family to Louisa County, Iowa, bought a claim, and there remained until his death, which occurred in August, 1864, at the age of fifty years. His widow, the mother of our subject, is yet living, and now resides in Mediapolis, where she has numerous friends who esteem her for her many Christian graces. They reared a family of eleven children, seven of whom are yet living: Martha J. is now the wife of Daniel Kilpatrick, and resides at Morning Sun, Iowa; John A. was for fourteen years a teacher in a deaf mute institution at Omaha, Neb., but now lives on a large farm near Sioux City, Iowa; Susanna E. is the wife of C. S. Zorbaugh, a teacher in the Iowa Deaf and Dumb Institute, and was herself a teacher before her marriage; Julia E. is the wife of R. S. Hedges, a merchant in Kossuth, Iowa; Isaac N. is the subject of this sketch; Emma A., wife of E. W. Blair, of Salina, Kan.; Mary Annette, who died in 1865, at the age of eighteen; Theresa A., the deceased wife of George Werbeck, of Solomon City, Kan.; Ella, who now lives in Mediapolis, is the widow of James Irwin, who died recently, in Topeka, Kan.; Francis A. died in Ohio at the age of eighteen years; William G. was educated at Parsons College, attended the McCormick Theological Seminary, was licensed as a minister of the Gospel, and in 1886 was sent by the Presbyterian Board as a missionary to Siam, and in November, 1887, married a lady missionary of the same country.

William McClure was a man of more than ordinary ability, and always took an active part in every thing intended for the good of the community. For many years he was a Justice of the Peace, and faithfully discharged the duties of the office, to the entire satisfaction of those having business before him. On the slavery question he took a decided stand in opposition to the "peculiar institution," never for a moment believing in the right of one man to hold in bondage a fellowman. On the temperance question he was likewise radical, believing it best to "touch not, taste not, handle not," that which tended to take away the reasoning powers of man, or had a tendency to bring him below the level of the brute. In the advocacy of anti-slavery views and abstinence from alcoholic drinks, he was a leader in the neighborhood where he resided. No man mistook his position upon either question. In his religious belief he was a Presbyterian, and active in all the works of the church, and prominent in the organization of the pioneer Presbyterian Church of Yellow Spring. For years he was a Ruling Elder, and was one who ruled well. His heart was in the cause, and he did not think it a hardship to work for the Master. His memory is revered, not alone by his family, but by all who knew him. When he passed away it could truly be said, "A leader in Israel has fallen."

I. N. McClure was reared upon his father's farm, and after attending the district schools for a time entered Howe's Academy, at Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, closing his student days in Yellow Spring Academy, at Kossuth, Iowa. He then taught school in the winter and worked upon the farm in the summer for four years. On the 28th of December, 1869, he wedded Miss Susan E. Parrett, of Ross County, Ohio, and daughter of Joseph and Molena Parrett. Immediately after his marriage he removed with his young bride to the old home farm, where he remained engaged in farming until 1873, when he bought a half-interest in The store of A. C. Brown, at Mediapolis, and has since continued in the mercantile business, in which he has met with well-deserved success.

To Mr. and Mrs. McClure three children have been born--Marcus P., Louie M. and Frank E.; all are yet at home. Politically he is a Republican. Religiously, he is connected with the Presbyterians, and is a member of the Presbyterian Church at Mediapolis, of which he is an Elder. His wife is also a member of that church, and both are held in high esteem in the society. The maternal ancestry of Mr. McClure is Welsh, while on his father's side they are of Scotch-Irish descent, and for two or three generations back the fathers have been Elders of the Presbyterian Church. It will thus be seen that all were well grounded in the faith in which their descendants are earnest believers.

As a business man, Mr. McClure is conservative but enterprising, the large trade the firm now enjoys being evidence of the confidence reposed in him by his fellow-citizens. In business circles he takes a leading position in Mediapolis, and as a citizen he is ever willing to do his part in every enterprise which has for its object the good of the community in which he resides, and he is justly held in high esteem, and regarded as one of the foremost citizens of the township.

James McConnell, for many years a well-known citizen of Burlington, and one of her reliable business men, was born in Harford County, Md., of Quaker parents, Oct. 14, 1801.  His ancestry was Scotch-Irish on his father's side, and Welsh and English on his mother's side.  His father, when a boy, served as a musician in the Colonial army during the Revolutionary War, and was present at the evacuation of Philadelphia by the British.  While still a young man, he became convinced of the belief held by the Friends or Quakers, and deemed it his duty to take up his cross, which he did by consigning his musical instruments to a convenient hedge, and until the day of his death at the age of eighty-one, he lived an active, consistent member of the Society, and was for many years a minister.

Our subject, like his father, was a farmer during the first half of his life, and was noted for his progressive ideas and his success in business. In the year 1832 he married Anna, daughter of Nicholas and Sarah Cooper, also Quakers, of Belmont County, Ohio, who with their family had been among the worthy pioneers of that section a few years before.  Prompted by a desire to escape the blighting influences of slavery, Mr. Cooper had left his house in Harford County, and joined the great caravan of western emigrants who stand out boldly in the history of that time.

As usual in those days, Mr. McConnell and his bride made the wedding journey of over 300 miles in the family carriage, without a dream of palace cars or other luxuries of modern travel.  The customary housekeeping outfit of the bride was transported by the Wagoner of the Alleghanies, and arrived in Baltimore within a month.  Mr. and Mrs. McConnell continued to reside upon the ancestral acres until 1853, blessed with the prosperity which awaits the industrious and thrifty.  During this time there were born unto them seven children, two of whom died in infancy, the remaining five accompanying their parents to Salem, Ohio, where Mr. McConnell embarked in mercantile pursuits.  He remained in Salem until 1862, when he removed to Newark, Ohio, and engaged in the leather trade, having buried his wife in June of that year.  Mrs. McConnell, the mother of S. R. and I. C. McConnell, of Burlington, was a woman of great sweetness of disposition, coupled with the firm devotion to duty rarely met with.  She remained a consistent Quaker until her death, and was universally beloved.

Mr. McConnell remained in Newark, Ohio, until 1864, then was married a second time, to Mrs. Cowles, who survives him.  He then removed to Burlington, where he continued in the leather business, and was joined the next year by his son, I. C. McConnell, who had for several years been engaged in the office of the Cleveland Leader.  In 1871, his son, S. R. McConnell, who had for several years been connected with the dry-goods house of J. T. Way & Co., of Philadelphia, also came to Burlington and joined him, the firm taking the name of James McConnell & Co.

The children of Mr. McConnell who lived to majority were:  Sarah Cooper, wife of Dr. E. H. Price, of Chattanooga, Tenn.; Francis Louisa, wife of Mr. Eastman, present Cashier of the City Bank of Salem, Ohio; James Webster, Captain of Company I, 115th Ohio Infantry, died in his twenty-third year at Burbank Barracks, Cincinnati, while in command of his company; Samuel R., born in Harford County, Md., Jan. 13, 1842, married Eliza, daughter of John S. and Lucinda M. Hester, of Havana, Huron Co., Ohio, Jan. 16, 1873; Isaiah Cooper, born in Harford County, Md., in 1847, married Willie J., daughter of William and Josephine Horner, in October, 1877.

Mr. McConnell was a man of great physical and mental vigor, possessing much force of character.  While he entertained progressive ideas upon all subjects, he was conservative in his acts and highly tolerant of those opposed to him.  In early life, while surrounded by a slave-holding community, he faithfully sustained the dignity of free labor, and commanded the respect and confidence of those who knew him, even while they were identified with the system which he did not pretend to approve.  The colonization movement, which in those days was by many considered a practicable scheme for the abolition of slavery, for awhile claimed his attention and serious consideration.  Gradual emancipation, as had been successfully accomplished by some of the Northern States, was during his earlier life, and up to the beginning of the agitation which resulted in the passage of the fugitive slave law, the plan he most favored.  Meantime the rapid increase in the number of slaves, and the strength of the system, were preparing his mind along with a host of others, for the adoption of the Republican idea, and the formation of a new party.  A Whig in his political affiliations, although acting for a time with the Democratic party in the State of Maryland on some State issues, and considering favorably at one time doctrines of free trade, his sympathies naturally prompted him to take an active part in the organization of the Republican party in his district, after his removal to Ohio and to vote for the first Republican National ticket with John C. Fremont at the head.  He remained an earnest Republican until his death in 1878.  For many years during his life in Maryland he served as Magistrate of his district, at that time an office of considerable honor and influence, and much greater jurisdiction than the term implies in the West.  His official acts were always in conformity with his moral convictions, and while strict in his dealings with the law-breaker, he was lenient to the oppressed.  On one occasion a fugitive slave was brought before him for a hearing.  Her manacled limbs, bruised and bleeding, appealed instantly to his humanity, and with characteristic promptness he ordered the blacksmith to remove the shackles.  Then he heard the evidence, and as it was not conclusive in favor of the professed master, gave her the benefit of a doubt, and sent her forth rejoicing.  No fear of the opinions of others, or question of policy, were ever considered by Mr. McConnell in the discharge of his duty.  The cause of the persecuted and oppressed always found a friend in him, and his indomitable will, combined with his convictions of right, seldom failed to gain his cause.  Industry and thrift were part of his ancestral inheritance, and secured him the means of enjoying an independence, and ministering to the wants of others.  In his family, his discipline was strict, ofttimes severe, but always prompted by his desire for the welfare and ultimate happiness of those he so deeply loved.  No effort seemed too great, no sacrifice too deep for him to attempt, if he believed it for the welfare of his family.  Naturally adapted to govern, his innate sense of justice never allowed him to trespass upon the rights of others.  He never betrayed a trust however trifling, and in business circles his word was considered as good as a bond.  Patriotism was in him a leading sentiment.  When his eldest son came home from a residence in the South, at the breaking out of the Rebellion, where he had been Captain of a militia company, one of those home guards fostered by the South, that helped so largely to form the rebel army, and where he had been offered a Colonel's commission in the army of the Confederacy, to enlist under the stars and stripes, and having served a campaign in which he was promoted to a captaincy for gallantry of the field of battle, was compelled by failing health, the result of exposure, to resign, finding the enforced idleness unendurable, declared he would rather die in the service of his country than live to know that he had not done his utmost, Mr. McConnell came to his aid with money and influence, and after repeated struggles against apathy in the community, and fraud and inefficiency in fellow officers, Capt. McConnell took his last company of recruits into camp, and was mustered into the 115th Ohio Infantry, and assigned to guard duty in Cincinnati, where his bright young life ended in a few months, one of the great army of martyrs for his country's cause.  In every way that his country called Mr. McConnell was ready to respond, and never hesitated in her hour of need.  As husband, father, friend and citizen, he was ever true. "A good man leaveth an inheritance to his children's children." 

David McDill, M. D., senior partner of the firm of McDill & McDill, of Burlington, Iowa, was born in Hamilton, Butler Co., Ohio, May 12, 1832. He received a liberal education in the Academy at Xenia and at Hanover College, Indiana, under the tutelage of Rev. Hugh McMillan, an old Covenanter. In 1852 he went to Henderson County, Ill., where he entered the office of Dr. James McDill, a prominent physician. In 1853 he entered the St. Louis Medical College, at St. Louis, Mo., graduating in 1855. He commenced the practice of his profession in 1856, in Monmouth, Warren County, Ill., and continued to reside there until 1862, when he was commissioned as Assistant Surgeon of the 84th Illinois Infantry. In the spring of 1863 Dr. McDill was promoted to Surgeon of the same regiment. He was in the following engagements: Perryville, Ky., Stone River, Lookout Mountain, Missionary Ridge, was in the Atlanta campaign, and also participated in the battles of Franklin and Nashville, serving until the close of the war.

After leaving the army the Doctor resumed the practice of his profession in Henderson County, where he had previously settled in 1858. In 1878 he came to Burlington, where he has been in constant practice ever since. The Doctor is a member of the American Medical Society, also of the Des Moines Medical Association. He is an active worker in Matthes Post No. 5, G. A. R. In politics the Doctor is one of the stanch Republicans of the county, and held the office of Pension Examiner from 1868 until the beginning of the present administration, in 1885.

Dr. McDill was united in marriage, in 1859, to Miss Mary A. Worrell, a daughter of Rev. Joseph Worrell, of Illinois. They are the parents of six living children__David, Minnie, Jennie, Joseph, Laura and Mabel. Though not very long a resident of Burlington Dr. McDill has acquired the reputation of a skillful and conscientious physician, and has built up an extensive practice.

Rev. David McDill, D. D., deceased, was born in South Carolina, Dec. 27, 1790. His parents were Scotch-Irish Presbyterians. His father's name was David McDill, and his mother's name was Isabella McQuiston. At that period Scotch-Irish Presbyterians constituted the principal portion of the population of the northern part of South Carolina, where the McDills resided, and had many churches, schools and academies. Although reared to labor on a farm, young David evidently had a love for books and a thirst for knowledge, and made good improvements of the opportunities for mental culture. At that time there were but few slaves in that part of South Carolina, consequently for the white man to labor was not thought so degrading as it afterward came to be considered in that region. The invention of the cotton-gin made the raising of cotton much more profitable than it had been previously, and consequently created a greater demand for slave labor. The father of David now saw that he must either purchase more slaves, or see his family sink down virtually to the condition of slaves, or remove to the West. A regard for the comfort and well-being of his family determined him in making his choice of the latter resort, and he therefore removed to Western Ohio, settling in Preble County.

This was in 1806, when David was sixteen years of age. After spending three years upon his father's farm, he left home for the purpose of completing his education. Commencing the study of languages under the Rev. William Robertson, at Lebanon, Ohio, he spent some time under his private training, and then went to Transylvania University, in Kentucky, where he finished his literary course. Soon after the completion of this course he went to New York, and entered the Theological Seminary of the Associate Reformed Church, where he spent four annual sessions, delivering the valedictory address on graduating. This was in the spring of 1817. He was licensed the same year by the Associate Reformed Presbytery of Ohio, and then returned to his father's home in Western Ohio. In October, 1817, he commenced preaching in Hamilton, Ohio, and continued to labor there for more than thirty years. In 1848 he removed to Randolph County, Ill., locating near Sparta, the enfeebled state of his health being the main reason for this move. It was not his intention to again take charge of a congregation, but he was prevailed upon to take pastoral charge of one, and continued in that relation for about nine years. He then removed to Monmouth, Ill., to enter upon another field of labor, as editor of the United Presbyterian. In connection with his editorial work he still continued to preach the greater part of he time in vacancies, in the Presbytery of Monmouth, for several years after his removal to its bounds.

Mr. McDill was a reformer in the true sense of the word, but regarded the Gospel as the great reforming agent. In the temperance reform he was ever active. On the slavery question he took sides with the oppressed, and his joy knew no bounds when the slaves were made free. He was a ripe scholar, and as an editor and preacher the results of these attainments were brought into constant use. In his estimate of individual character he was rarely mistaken. He was notably a wise man, and in difficult circumstances was a safe leader and counselor. He was eminent in piety and a man of peace, and was temperate in all things, but of strong will, which he kept under self-control. No passion influenced him and no hasty expression put him at a disadvantage. Whether in the statement of facts or opinions he was careful and conscientious, and made sure that his facts should be accurate and his opinions well matured. The ministry of Dr. McDill extended over half a century. He was licensed, as stated, in 1817, and died June 15, 1870. For forty years he had regular charges, but continued to preach frequently until near the close of his long and useful life, and he died as he had lived, praising the Master whom he had so faithfully served.

The domestic life of Dr. McDill was happy. He married Lydia McDonnell, of Spring Creek, Ohio. Of their family three daughters are yet living, and one son, Dr. David McDill, whose sketch appears in this work.

J. N. McGohan is a prominent farmer of Danville Township residing on section 23. It is a lamentable fact that so much of the early history of men of note in this county is unobtainable. Daniel McGohan, the father of our subject, was left an orphan at an early age, his father dying before Daniel was born, and the mother a short time afterward. The father of Daniel McGohan was born in Ireland, and after coming to America wedded Mrs. Hutson, a widow. Both had been married previously, and Daniel was the youngest child of the second marriage. His birth occurred in Pennsylvania, in which State his parents lived. Left among strangers when a mere child, he was cared for in a measure by a family named Collins for a few years, then became an inmate of Mr. Wells' family, with whom he remained until his fourteenth year, when he began the battle of life alone. With the whole world before him, and a pair of strong arms to begin the struggle, Daniel sought employment, and the next authentic account of him begins with him leaving the Wells family, who then lived near Maysville, Ky. His brother Peter and himself left together, and engaged with a farmer for a few months in another part of the county, and thus, being employed at anything that could be secured, both grew to manhood, neither having an opportunity for education, and having the grim fact staring them in the face of being compelled to fight their way alone in a world not always friendly. There were other half-brothers and sisters, only one of whom, Hutson, who resided for a long while in Clermont County, Ohio, and died there, can be mentioned. Peter became separated from his brother Daniel before either was married. The brothers worked upon a keelboat, and made several trips, going down the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers as far as Natchez, Miss., returning on foot through the wilderness to the place of starting. Upon the last trip Peter decided to go to New Orleans, and bidding his brother good-by, they separated never to meet again, as Peter was not heard from, and perhaps died in the Southern country. By hard work Daniel McGohan saved money enough to purchase a small farm in Bracken County, Ky., having previously married a Miss Phoebe Insloe. They became parents of four children: Jemima, wife of Harrison Ellis; Sarah, wife of Richard Goldsbury; Mary and Joseph both died in childhood. After the death of his first wife Mr. McGohan marries Lydia Dunn, and fourteen children were born. The family removed to Clermont County, Ohio, about 1828, where the husband purchased a farm, and during the remainder of their lives the parents were residents of that county. The father, who was born March 4, 1783, died April 6, 1871, aged eighty-eight. His wife, who in life was a true and faithful companion, preceded him four days, having reached her eighty-first year. Daniel McGohan enlisted as a soldier in the War of 1812, but an attack of illness kept him from going. He secured a substitute, and after recovery presented himself for duty, but the substitute refused to give up the place, and so he returned to his farm and family.

Of their fourteen children six are living: Phoebe is the wife of Absalom Wood, a farmer of Clermont County, Ohio; Andrew J., residing in the same county, is the husband of Lucinda Thompson; James Nelson, our subject; Martha A., wife of Alex P. Henning, a farmer of Brown County, Ohio; Henry J. married Lucinda Musgrove, and after her death Sarah Thompson, and they are also residents of Clermont County, Ohio; Elijah, a farmer of Brown County, Ohio, is the husband of Harriet Thompson, a cousin of Sarah.

James N. McGohan, our subject, was born Aug. 3, 1823, in Bracken County, Ky., and being reared in the midst of a large family, upon a farm, he secured a meager education during his boyhood. Remaining at home until fully of age, his first trip into the world was an event of importance to him. Possessing a good horse, the young man mounted him, after bidding his friends and relatives adieu, and Dec. 25, 1845, he turned his face toward the West, being the possessor of $25.75 in cash, and the horse he rode. Making easy rides, and stopping a few days where employment could be secured, the trip, which had for its objective point Burlington, Iowa, was made in three months, he reaching this city March 2, 1846, with his cash capital increased after paying traveling expenses, he now having $27 in his purse, and the same horse which had carried him to Iowa. Mr. McGohan crossed the river on the ice Monday evening, and on the Wednesday following the ice broke up. He was the last to make the trip across that icy bridge for that time, and many people stood upon the bank anxiously watching, fearful that the horse and rider would break through at every step. Pushing into the country, James McGohan obtained work with Wolcott Seymour, who was one of the earliest settlers, and at the time of his death President of the Burlington Insurance Company; $9 per month was the compensation received for the summer spent in Mr. Seymour's employ. In the autumn of 1846 he took a trip South, and for several months chopped cord-wood near Memphis, Tenn., returning to Iowa the next spring. Having spent his cash capital, and again being ready to begin work in the new country, he hired by the month, and until his marriage in October, 1848, his time was spent in the employ of others.

His wedding was celebrated at the residence of John Crawford, whose daughter, Minerva A., was the bride. The young couple began domestic life upon a rented farm in Flint River Township. After his marriage an era of prosperity began with Mr. McGohan, though he rented lands until 1852, and in that year purchased a farm in Pleasant Grove Township, and in 1868 became the possessor of his present homestead. His children have all been born and reared in the county, and we are glad to mention the individual members: Daniel W. is now deceased; Martha J., residing at home; John W., Esther A. and William H., are all deceased; Franklin P., the husband of Maggie Holland, is a farmer of Washington Township, this county; Lydia E., wife of William A. Chadwick, a resident of Pleasant Grove Township, Des Moines County; Charles remains upon the farm aiding his father in the work; Mary M. and Sarah J. were twins, and the former is now deceased.

The death of Mrs. McGohan occurred March 25, 1887, she having lived to see her children grown and educated. She was sixty-one years of age, and in the sketch of the Crawford family elsewhere in this volume will be found an authentic history of her father's family. She was a model wife, a loving mother, ad was a member of the Christian Church. Together she and her husband had shared comparative poverty, and together they later enjoyed the ease and comforts which those of frugal habits and energetic lives surround themselves with. In speaking again of Mr. McGohan, we offer this sketch as an example of a self-made man, who, with his brain and muscle, has achieved within a few years a competence for old age, and perhaps there is no one of his years residing in the county who has attended more strictly to details of business. This is a welcome and valuable contribution to a series of sketches of the representative people of Danville Township, and is presented with pleasure.

Samuel J. McKinney, a carpenter and joiner of Burlington, Iowa, residing at 311 South Fourth Street, was born in Clermont County, Ohio, Jan. 20, 1816, and is a son of John and Nellie (Larkins) McKinney, both of whom were natives of Virginia, the father being of Irish and the mother of Welsh descent. John McKinney was born Sept. 22, 1777, and died in 1847; his wife was born Jan. 6, 1776, and died Nov. 28, 1841. They reared a large family of children: Sarah E., who was born Nov. 30, 1800, and died in 1864, became the wife of Joseph Perther, who is also now deceased, they leaving quite a large family; Jeremiah, born Nov. 27, 1802, died in August, 1832; Elijah L., born Jan. 14, 1805, died in 1820; John F., born Jan. 4, 1807, went to Memphis, Tenn., where he became one of the wealthy and influential citizens, and died in 1880, his family still being residents of that place; Nancy M., born Nov. 25, 1808, wedded William Sargent and are both deceased, the former dying in Pleasant Grove Township in 1849; Polly F., born Sept. 18, 1810, also became the wife of William Sargent, and died in 1872; Washington W., born March 5, 1813; our subject; and Gideon M., born May 30, 1819. John McKinney and family, with the exception of four children, came to Iowa in 1839, settling in Pleasant Grove Township, where a farm of 160 acres was purchased, he making that his home until his death. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, as was also his wife, zealous in all undertakings, though modest and reserved. He was fond of home life and had the esteem of all who knew him. His wife, a most estimable lady, was a kind and devoted Christian, early instructing her children in the teachings of the Bible.

Until the age of twenty Samuel J. McKinney spent his life upon the farm, attending the district school. At that age, in 1836, he began learning the cabinet-maker's trade, and after serving an apprenticeship of three years came to Iowa, again taking up his residence with his parents, remaining with them until April 7, 1844. On that day his marriage with Miss Ann Blacker was celebrated. She was born in Butler County, Ohio, and is a daughter of Robert and Anna (Abraham) Blacker. Her father was born in Belfast, Ireland, about 1796, and when about twelve years of age came to America with his parents, settling in Ohio. Mrs. Blacker was a native of that State, being born in Butler County. They reared a family of twelve children, of whom there are still living: Susan, the widow of Josiah Burge, resides near Dallas, Texas; Owen is a farmer and also County Surveyor, residing near Springfield, Mo.; Lot, whose home is in Unionville, Oregon; Rebecca, wife of Edward Condry, a resident of Kansas; Elizabeth, wife of William Seal, of Carthage, Mo.; Mary, wife of Daniel Brown, resides in Kansas City, Mo.; Anna was twice married, her first husband being Mr. Downey; Sarah, deceased wife of Mr. Douty; W. T. and G. W. are farmers in Kansas. The father of these children, although born in Ireland, was of Protestant faith, and the mother was a member of the Baptist Church.

Since 1839 Mr. McKinney has been engaged in carpentering in Burlington, having erected many of the beautiful buildings for which the city is noted. For many years he had been a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, while socially he has belonged to the Washington Lodge, No. 1, and to the Encampment, I. O. O. F., since 1852. He has held various township offices of trust. He was a Whig in politics until the organization of the Republican party, since which time he has cast his ballot with that body. For almost a half-century Mr. McKinney has been a resident of Burlington. Always taking a deep interest in public enterprises, he has been closely identified with its religious and educational advancement, and well deserves a prominent place among the pioneers of his county.

Five children graced the union of Mr. and Mrs. McKinney: Two died in infancy; Oscar died in 1872, aged twenty-two years; Eliza, born in 1845, is now the wife of J. L. Smith, residing at 1100 West Market street, Burlington, Iowa; Ida, born in 1860, is the wife of John B. Dengler, a civil engineer residing at the corner of Pond and Division streets, Burlington, Iowa.

Edward McKitterick, Vice President of the German-American Mutual Life Association of Burlington, was born in County Tyrone, Ireland, in 1830, his parents, John and Maria (Jones) McKitterick, being of Scotch and Irish descent.  They were reared in the Protestant faith and were stanch supporters of the Old School Presbyterian Church.

Edward McKitterick was reared upon his father's farm and received a liberal education.  When but fourteen years of age he crossed the Atlantic alone, his destination being Chillicothe, Ohio, where he had relatives living, and soon after his arrival in that city he secured employment as a clerk in a china store, where he became thoroughly acquainted with that business. Deciding to make the West the scene of his future operations Mr. McKitterick located in Burlington in 1854, and opened the first china store in the city, in company with a gentleman by the name of Miller, under the firm name of McKitterick & Miller.  The business was continued in this manner until 1867, when J. C. McKell purchased the interest of Miller, the firm name being changed to McKitterick & McKell, but later the latter named gentleman sold his interest and retired from business.  Mr. McKitterick was one of the original members of the Merchants' National Bank of Burlington, being Cashier of that institution for seven years.  He was appointed Receiver of the Burlington & Southwestern Railroad, which business he conducted with satisfaction to all concerned.  For several years past he has been identified with the insurance business of Burlington, and in 1887 planned and was one of the organizers of the German-American Mutual Life Association, and was made Vice President and general business manager. Politically, Mr. McKitterick is a Democrat of the Douglas stripe, and in 1876 was a delegate to the National Convention at St. Louis and assisted in the nomination of Samuel J. Tilden.  He has always taken an active interest in educational matters, and deserves as much credit for the high standing of the city schools as any man in Burlington.  As a member of the Masonic fraternity he belongs to Des Moines Lodge, No. 1, and served as Master, several times representing the organization in the Grand Lodge.  He is also a member of Iowa Chapter, No. 1, R. A. M.

Mr. McKitterick has been twice married.  His first wife was Miss Mary Creighton Massie, whom he married Aug. 27, 1850, by whom he had seven children, viz:  William, Alice, John, Nathaniel, Maria, Mary and Belinda. For his second wife he married Miss Sally B. Massie, Aug. 26, 1867, a sister to his first wife and both daughters of Nathaniel Massie, of Ohio.  By the last marriage there were three children, viz:  Edward, Learner and Thomas. Nathaniel is a graduate of Rush Medical College, and is now in Government employment as physician among the Sisseton Indians, of Dakota.  Mr. McKitterick has always taken an active interest in the development and business enterprises of Burlington, and is among its most highly-esteemed citizens.  He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

Hon. Joseph J. McMaken

For almost half a century the name mentioned has been one of the most familiar in Des Moines County.  In 1839 John McMaken, father of our subject emigrated from Hamilton County, Ohio, to Des Moines County, Iowa, locating in Flint River Township, purchasing the claim which he afterward entered, buying it at a public land sale held in Burlington. John McMaken was born in Hamilton County, Ohio, where his father, Joseph McMaken, Sr., had located in 1790, being at that time one of the first pioneers, and making a home in that undeveloped country.  Joseph McMaken, Sr., was born in Cumberland County, Pa., his father being a native of Ireland.  He married Elizabeth Campbell in Pennsylvania, and their eldest son, Joseph H., Jr., was born prior to their removal to Ohio.  Her father's name was Andrew Campbell, and her mother's maiden name was Jane Gettys, whose brother William was the original founder of Gettysburg, Pa., and his remains are interred in the cemetery near that city, a handsome marble column marking the spot.

Leaving now the early history of the family, which is meager, we turn our attention to Joseph, the grandfather of our subject, who after his marriage emigrated to Kentucky in 1789, settling at Boone's Station, but remained there only about one year, leaving on account of the prevalence of slavery, to which he was very much opposed.  Some of his brothers-in-law were with their families residents of the same neighborhood, among whom were Messrs. Harvey, Campbell, and Wakefield, all of whom later became residents of the new territory mentioned, in Ohio.  The grant secured by John Cleves Sims was destined to become one of the most favored regions, and inducements made by him, the gift of certain quarter sections to actual settlers, was perhaps the reason of the McMakens going to Ohio.  Mr. Sims had erected a block-house at North Bend, known as Sims' Station, where settlers took refuge to protect themselves from Indian attacks, the savages at that time being very troublesome.  While the Wayne treaty with the Indians was in progress, Joseph, in company with several other men, erected a half dozen log houses in what is now Union Township, Butler County, the cabins being near Mill Creek.  Into these the families were moved Dec. 17, 1795.  While residents of the blockhouse, John, the father of our subject, and the second son of Joseph McMaken, was born, the date being May 11, 1791.  The grandparents opened up a farm, living upon it for many years, and reared a family of several children, and we note them as being pioneers in the fullest sense.  Mark C. McMaken, the only surviving member of the family, was born Jan. 1, 1800, and is still living in Hamilton, Butler Co., Ohio, in his eighty-ninth year.

John McMaken, the father of our subject, wedded Sarah Lowry and came with his family to this county in 1839.  Seven children, all that were living, came with him, and of them we speak individually.  They were all married in this State.  John wedded Eliza Cummins, and after her death, Elizabeth Wertz, and they reside in Middletown, living a retired life; Joseph J., our subject; Mary H., who wedded Mr. William C. Anderson, formerly a merchant of Washington, Iowa, and both are now deceased; William T., who married Phoebe Green, is part owner of the McMaken homestead in Flint River Township; Jane became the wife of Robert Steele, a man well known in this neighborhood as a carpenter and builder, and both are now deceased; Emeline wedded William Ramsey, and they have been residents of Solomon City, Dickinson Co., Kan., for the past eighteen years; Eliza became the wife of J. C. Smith, a merchant of Washington, Iowa.  The parents of these children lived for many years in this county and reared a family noted for progressiveness and honor.  The death of the mother occurred in 1864, at the age of sixty-eight years.  William T., was at that time absent, being a member of Company K. 14th Iowa Infantry, and at Shiloh he was taken prisoner and was parolled at Macon, Ga.  John McMaken was the owner in this county of perhaps 600 acres of land, which he disposed of at different dates.  He died at Washington, Iowa, June 20, 1882, and his remains were brought back to Flint River Township for interment.   He had passed his ninety-first birthday, and was, when living, thought to be the oldest person born in Hamilton County, Ohio. He was a soldier during the War of 1812, and from his twentieth year was a professed Christian, belonging to the United Presbyterian Church at the time of his death.

Our subject, Hon. Joseph J. McMaken, was born March 25, 1817, was reared upon a farm in Ohio, and learned to love agriculture as only those can who have become familiar with its pleasures and profits.  He was of age when coming to this county, and had been engaged in teaching public schools for a short time in Ohio.  He purchased a claim in Flint River Township in 1839, and later entered the same, and the lands are yet in his possession, and to this he added other valuable real estate.  These claims had but meager improvements, not even a log hut ornamenting them, and the first cabin stood upon the site now occupied by the present farm residence.  Mr. McMaken's next thought, after his house was erected, was to furnish a mistress for the home, and Miss Parthena M. Green, accepting his offer, became his wife Oct. 21, 1841.  Her parents, John and Thankful (Comstock) Green, who came from Hamilton County, Ohio, and located in Lee County, Iowa in 1839, died in 1846.  John Green was born in Falmouth, Mass., and his wife in Connecticut. They were married in Ohio, and became the parents of eight children:  Latham D., Parthena M., Louisa M., Clarinda, Joseph, Jacob C., Phoebe and Sarah. Of these four are living:  Clarinda is the widow of Joseph K. Scott of Flint River Township, Des Moines County; Joseph wedded Caroline Long, and after her death Susan Hare also now deceased, and he resides at Middletown on a farm; Phoebe wedded William T. McMaken, who resides upon a part of the old McMaken homestead; and the wife of our subject completes the number. Upon the farm improved by Joseph McMaken, Jr., in Flint River Township, their children were born, of whom the eldest and youngest are deceased: Leander G., Armilda E. and John G.  The daughter graduated at Denmark Academy in 1871, and has done whole duty of a daughter by remaining with her parents and acting as housekeeper for her good mother, who for several years has been deprived of her eyesight.  The family removed from the farm and became residents of Middletown in 1881, Mr. McMaken renting his farm and living a retired life.  He was clerk of the election at the time of the township organization, and was elected one of the Board of Inspectors to district the township for school purposes.  A strong anti-slavery partisan from his boyhood, he became a member of the Free Soil party, and was their candidate in 1854 for State Treasurer.  Espousing the Republican platform at the organization of that party, Mr. McMaken became it earnest advocate, and in the autumn of 1863 was elected as a Republican Representative from Des Moines County to a seat in the Tenth General Assembly.  After his time had expired, he was elected a member of the Board of County Supervisors, serving a term of three years.  Retiring then to private life, with a record most enviable as an official, Mr. McMaken has lived at his ease to this date, and we are pleased to give him a deserved place among those who for almost a half-century have developed the resources of the county and have managed its affairs in a manner both systematic and commendable. 

Barney McPartland, a passenger conductor of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, running the fast train, known as the "Flyer," between Burlington and Pacific Junction, on the Missouri River, was born in Providence, R. I., Aug. 13, 1855, and is a son of Thomas and Catherine (Flynn) McPartland. The year of his birth his parents moved to Burlington, Iowa, so that he made his advent in this city as an infant. He attended public and private schools in his boyhood, and when thirteen years old became a railroad employe, working as water boy on the line of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy, east of the Mississippi, near the Burlington bridge. He and his brother, John H., the present general yardmaster, used to carry their dinners, crossing the river on the old steamer "Miner" (which was afterward used as a gunboat in the late war), and put in a day's work on construction like little men.

After completion of the bridge at Burlington, Mr. McPartland continued with the bridge building crew under Dan Martin, as foreman, and with Reynolds and Solpaugh, contractors, working between this city and Ft. Madison. Later, he went to Hannibal, Mo., with A. Walbaum on bridge construction, engaging more or less in train service, and was also employed as water boy on construction of the Quincy Branch, between Burlington and Quincy. In 1871 he began as brakeman, was promoted to conductor in 1874, and continued running on a freight until 1881, when he was promoted to passenger conductor, and is now running the fast train between Burlington and Pacific Junction, near the Missouri River. On the occurance of the engineer's strike of 1888, he was appointed assistant trainmaster during a temporary suspension of train No. 1. At the beginning of the strike a trainload of passengers was left at the Burlington Depot without engineer or fireman, and Barney McPartland was called on to mann the lever, and with another conductor, Dell Ferguson, as fireman, ran the train from Burlington to Ottumwa, gaining thirty minutes of the delayed time after making all customary stops. They were complimented by the passengers for the perfect manner in which the work was done, and on the return trip they brought in train No. 4. Mr. McPartland took an active part in aiding the company to continue the business of the road during this late strike.

On the 26th of October, 1879, at Burlington, Iowa, Barney McPartland wedded Miss Mary Curran, daughter of P. and Mary Curran. Mrs. McPartland was born at Wheeling, W. Va., and came to this city in childhood. Five children were born of their union, three of whom are living--Catherine, Mary and Gertrude. Ellen, the third child, died aged two years and four months, and the only son died in infancy. All of the children were born in Burlington.

John H. McPartland, general yardmaster of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, at Burlington, Iowa, since Jan. 1, 1881, is a native of Providence, R. I., born July 4, 1853.  His parents, Thomas and Catherine (Flynn) McPartland, were both natives of Ireland, the father coming to this country when sixteen years of age and the mother when fourteen.  They were married in Rhode Island, and removed to Burlington, Iowa, in 1855, and still reside in this city.

Our subject was educated in the city and Catholic schools of Burlington, beginning his life as a railroad employe at the age of thirteen years, as water boy in the gravel pit in what is now Gladstone, Ill. on the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy.  As soon as he was large enough he began work in the capacity of brakeman, and in his eighteenth year was made conductor, serving as freight or passenger conductor on the "Q" until Jan. 21, 1881, when he was appointed to his present position of general yardmaster, which he has now held for over seven years.

On the 30th of October, 1876, at Burlington, Iowa, the marriage of Mr. McPartland and Miss Ella Curran was celebrated.  She was born and reared in this city, and is a daughter of P. and Ellen Curran.  Mr. and Mrs. McPartland are the parents of three children, two sons and a daughter--Clara, Michael B. and George P.  In politics Mr. McPartland is an earnest Democrat, and while he has always taken an active part in political matters, and has been prominently identified with the party management of Des Moines County, he has always refused to be a candidate for any public office.  The duties of his position with the railway company are such as require the utmost care and promptness, and are discharged by him with ability and fidelity.  During the late strike his zeal and energy in the interest of the successful operation of the road won him the respect of the business public as well as that of his superiors.

John M. Mercer, of the law firm of Tracy & Mercer, Burlington, Iowa, was born at Kewanee, Henry Co., Ill., Aug. 28, 1858, and is a son of William and Sarah C. (Miller) Mercer, both of whom were born in County Down, Ireland, of Scotch origin, and are members of the Presbyterian Church. They emigrated to America when quite young, and are both living, being residents of Burlington. Mr. Mercer is foreman in the engine painting department of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, and has held that position for the past eighteen years.

John M. Mercer came to Burlington with his parents in 1859, was educated in the city schools, and began reading law in the office of Newman & Blake, a prominent law firm of Burlington. Later he entered the State University of Iowa, at Iowa City, graduating from the law department in the class of '80, and then accepted a position as private secretary to Judge Joshua Tracy, practicing his profession as opportunity afforded. In 1882 he formed a law partnership with S. K. Tracy, their business being largely railroad litigation for the Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern Company, and continued in that connection until 1884, when the partnership was dissolved, and the existing one formed with George S. Tracy, son of Judge Joshua Tracy. Mr. Mercer was united in marriage at Burlington, Feb. 23, 1881, with Miss Jennie M. Bernard, daughter of Cornelius Bernard, an early settler of that city. By their union four children have been born--Herbert M., Harry B., Paul R. and Jane A.

In his political views Mr. Mercer is a Democrat, and has been in public office several years, having served as Clerk of Burlington Township, was elected City Clerk in 1882, and with the exception of one term, has held the office continuously since, being its present incumbent. He is also in the service of the United States as Surveyor of Customs for the port of Burlington. Mr. Mercer is a talented young lawyer, who possesses a good knowledge of his profession, combined with fine executive ability, and makes an efficient and popular public officer.

James Warren Merrill, editor and proprietor of the New Era, Mediapolis, is a native of Clermont County, Ohio, born July 31, 1833.  His father, Joshua Merrill, was the son of William Merrill, a native of Massachusetts, and a descendant of one of the Puritan families of that region.  In the War of the Revolution William Merrill did his duty as a brave patriot, while in the second war with Great Britain Joshua Merrill just as faithfully served.  The latter wedded Rhoda Crosson, by whom he had thirteen children, seven of whom are now living:  William, late a resident of Pennville, Ind., was a soldier in the late war, serving as a member of the 81st Ohio Infantry till the close of the war:  Stephen M. is the well-known Bishop Merrill of the Methodist Episcopal Church, whose reputation is world-wide; James W. is the subject of our sketch; Eliza is the widow of Thomas Murren, of Page County, Iowa; Cornelia, wife of Thomas Davis, of Yellow Spring Township; Helen F., wife of Joshua Shockley, of Vermilion County, Ill.; Melissa, wife of G. F. Thomas, of Mediapolis.  The Crossons were of Irish descent, the family, however, emigrating to this country at an early day.  Like the Merrills they were intensely patriotic, the grandfather Crosson serving as a soldier in the French and Indian Wars, and also in the Revolutionary War. Joshua Merrill followed the occupation of a shoe-maker, but was a man of strong mind and superior intellect, and had he been differently situated would doubtless have become a distinguished man.  He was a devoted member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and politically, was a Whig, but of strong anti-slavery tendencies, becoming a member of the first society organized in his region.  Joshua Merrill died in 1851, his wife preceding him to the unknown world one year. When our subject was an infant the family moved to Hillsboro, Ohio, and from there to Greenfield, where he was reared and educated in the common schools.  At the age of seventeen he went to Washington, Fayette Co., Ohio, to learn the printers' trade.  After serving two years in the office of the Fayette New Era, he started out as a journeyman printer, and for the next ten years wandered over the country here and there through the States of Ohio and Indiana, working in various offices.  In this way he secured a knowledge of the "art preservative of all arts," such as could not be secured in any one office, and his views of men and measures were broadened. In 1857 Mr. Merrill went to Keithsburg, Ill., and worked in the office of the Observer, the first paper published in that place.  On the breaking out of the Civil War he offered his services as a soldier, but was rejected on account of physical disability, but later was accepted, and became a member of Company G, 45th Iowa Infantry.  On the 17th day of September, 1863, Mr. Merrill was united in marriage with Miss Jessie R. Telfer, a native of Scotland, and a daughter of Alexander Telfer.  Seven children have been born to them, five of whom are living--Anna May, Stephen C., Thomas A., Oak E. and Vida Helen.  The deceased are Minerva A., who died at the age of nineteen years, and Francis, who died in infancy.  Mr. and Mrs. Merrill are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and socially, he is a member of the I. O. O. F. and of the G. A. R.

As a citizen, Mr. Merrill is ever ready to do his part in building up the place in which he resides.  Like his father, he is a man of strong convictions, and that which he considers right he will advocate, however much he may be opposed, or whether the opposition may be ridicule of his views, or what might be thought to be a logical refutation of them.

Charles W. Messenger, train dispatcher of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy, at Burlington, Iowa, was born in Henry County, July 14, 1856, and is the son of Alanson and Pauline (Campbell) Messenger, who were pioneer settlers of this county and still reside at Danville.  Charles received his education at the district schools, which he attended until the age of fourteen.  Having an uncle in the railroad business, an agent at Danville, Mr. Messenger entered the office, learned telegraphy, and was afterward appointed agent, holding that position at various points between Burlington and Creston until 1878, when he secured the position of train dispatcher at Ottumwa.  In the fall of 1884 he came to this city, where he has since filled his present position.  Mr. Messenger is a self-made man, his success in life being due to his own efforts. In Danville, Iowa, the union of Charles W. Messenger and Miss Flora Robinson was celebrated.  She was born in La Crosse, Wis., in May, 1856, and is a stepdaughter of Wolcott Seymour, one of the prominent citizens of this county, now deceased.  By this union three children were born, all daughters--Zora, Marie and Pauline.  Mr. Messenger is a Hawkeye by birth, a young man of more than ordinary ability, and one who is highly respected.

Hiram Messenger, a prominent farmer residing on section 31, Yellow Spring Township, was born on the 7th of February, 1832, in Chenango County, N. Y., and is a son of William and Julia (Brown) Messenger, both of whom were natives of the same county.  In the fall of 1837 they left New York and started for the West, coming directly to Yellow Spring Township, where the father purchased 100 acres of raw land, from which he developed a finely cultivated farm.  He also purchased property in
the village of Yellow Spring, and there operated a sawmill for a number of years.  This county was his home until 1860, when he removed to Colorado, locating ten miles west of Denver.  After residing there for several years he removed to Black Hawk, Col., where his death occurred during the fall of 1887, at the advanced age of seventy-five.  The death of the mother occurred at the age of seventy-two, June 16, 1885, in Muscatine, Iowa, where she was making her home with her daughter.  They were both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

In 1847, when fifteen years of age, our subject came to Des Moines County with his parents, and for many years was employed in the cultivation of the farm.  He remained with his father until twenty-five years of age, and on the 25th of March, 1857, his marriage with Jane Harper was celebrated.  She was a native of the Buckeye State, and a daughter of David and Hannah (Wallace) Harper.  Immediately after their marriage the young couple began their domestic life on a farm of 100 acres, which Mr. Messenger had purchased on section 35 of Yellow Spring Township, and after residing there for six years removed with his family to Kossuth.  Later, Mr. Messenger went to Colorado, traveling overland, and remained six months, engaged in freighting and buying cattle.  After returning home he purchased eighty acres of land on section 31 of Yellow Spring Township, and this farm has ever since been his home.  He has added more land until he has now a farm of 159 1/2 acres in extant. The death of Mrs. Messenger occurred June 17, 1885, at the age of fifty-three years.  She was a devoted member of the Presbyterian Church.  Six children blessed the union of Hiram messenger and Jane Harper:  Albert, now a farmer of Yellow Spring Township; James H., who died at the age of five years; Alice, residing at home; Charlie, now living in Telluride, Col.; Edward, who died in infancy; and Anna Jane, living with her father.  Mr. Messenger is a member of the Presbyterian Church and is an Elder of that organization at Kossuth.  Politically, he is a Republican.

Adam Metz, Master Mechanic for the Burlington & Northwestern and Burlington & Western Railroads, was born in Rhine, Bavaria, Germany, May 21, 1841, and is a son of Adam and Eve (Stoll) Metz.  He remained with his parents until sixteen years old, receiving a common-school education, and was then apprenticed to the trade of machinist for three years, paying $40 for the privilege, boarding and clothing himself. After serving his time, as was the custom, he traveled through Germany, Switzerland and France.  From 1864 to 1865 Mr. Metz took a course in the Polytechnic School, which fitted him for the highest class of work and a thorough knowledge of his trade.  In 1865 he emigrated to America, landing in New York in May, and after remaining there some time he came to Burlington, and was employed in the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad shops until 1880.  From that date until 1882 he was a foreman at J. R. Burnham's Linseed Oil Mills, where he formed a partnership with E. Hernlen, the firm being known as Metz & Hernlen.  Mr. Metz sold out in 1883, and was again employed on the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy, and one year later made Master Mechanic of the Burlington & Northwestern and Burlington & Western Railroads.

Mr. Metz was married, March 10, 1870, to Miss Anna Swartz, a native of Prussia, born in 1849.  She came with her parents to Burlington in 1851.  By this union there are five children living--Emma, Lena, Hermann, Freddie and Walter.  Mr. Metz is a member of Burlington Lodge No. 20, A. F. & A. M., and also a member of the Sharpshooters, being one of its charter members.  Politically, he is a Democrat.  Mr. Metz is a first-class mechanic, as his position will testify.  He ranks high among his friends and acquaintances as a man of honor, and is in every way worthy of respect.

Frank Millard, a prominent lumber merchant of Burlington for over twenty-one years, and President of the Cascade Lumber Company, is a native of Hampton, Washington Co., N. Y., born Oct. 7, 1831.  His father, Ashley R. Millard, was a native of Rhode Island, and a cousin of President Millard Fillmore, whose mother was a daughter of Dr. Abiatha Millard, of Pittsfield, Mass., a sister of the grandfather of our subject.  The maiden name of Mr. Millard's mother was Miss Polly Peck, whose family was originally from Connecticut, where they were well-connected and highly esteemed. The early life of Frank Millard was spent upon a farm.  He was married at Warsaw, N. Y., in 1862, to Miss Annie I. Gallett, a daughter of Bradley S. Gallett.  Three children were born of their union, two sons and a daughter--Courtney, Homer and Emma.  In 1864 Mr. Millard emigrated to Iowa, locating in Burlington, where he engaged in the lumber business in company with his brother George and William E. Tomlinson, under the firm name of Frank Millard & Co.  That connection continued until 1879, when Mr. Millard sold his interest and engaged in the paint and oil trade, which he carried on until 1881, and then purchased the interest of Gilbert, Hedge & Co. in the Cascade Lumber Company, and was elected President of that organization. Mr. Millard's long experience in the lumber trade, his conservative business habits, and other substantial qualifications made him a valuable acquisition to the company, and he has been retained in the office of President continuously since.  (See history of the Cascade Lumber Company elsewhere in this work).

Mrs. Millard, who was a most estimable lady, died at her father's home in Warsaw, N. Y., in 1868.  In 1871, at Galesburg, Ill., Mr. Millard was again married--Miss Ellen Blennerhassit Hewson, daughter of Francis D. Hewson, of Toronto, Canada, becoming his wife.  At the summit of the high bluff that faces the Mississippi River, just opposite the bridge of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad, stands the elegant mansion of the Millards, making a prominent and attractive feature of the landscape, and commanding a magnificent view of the broad river, its traffic and distant islands, while a large portion of the city of Burlington, including the Union Depot, lies within an easy range of vision.

Champ Conner Miller, of Burlington, is a native of Indiana, born at Connersville, Fayette County, April 19, 1833, and is a son of Arthur and Rebecca (Wherritt) Miller; the father was born near Rochester, N. Y., March 10, 1804, of German descent on the paternal side, and French on the maternal side, the mother being a De Line. Arthur Miller, in early life, followed the carpenter's trade, but later became a minister of the Christian Church. In the year 1846 he removed, with his family, to Louisa County, Iowa, where he was engaged in preaching the gospel about two years, and afterward went to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, preaching until his death, which occurred March 9, 1856, his wife having preceded him to her final home, her death having occurred in July, 1851, of cholera.

In 1846 our subject came to Iowa with his parents. His youth was spent in acquiring an education, he taking a regular course in the English branches at Howe's Academy at Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, after which he commenced clerking for Presley Saunders, who was his uncle by marriage, in a general merchandising store, remaining until 1870, and making his home at Mt. Pleasant. Mr. Miller next engaged with J. H. Gear as clerk in his wholesale grocery house in Burlington, where he took up his residence. In 1880 and 1881 he served as Deputy County Treasurer, after which he engaged with Bell, Tollerton & Co., remaining with their successors when that firm sold out, and is still in their employ.

Mr. Miller married Miss Catherine Eyre, a daughter of Samuel Eyre, of Upper Alton, Ill., and three children were born of their union, two sons and a daughter: William M., residing in Burlington, married Palestine Erp, of Monmouth, Ill.; Lewis A. married Anna Hurst, of Burlington, and lives in that city, where he and his brother are both engaged in painting; the daughter, Caddie Sue, is the wife of Luke Hughes, a resident of that city. The mother of these children died in August, 1882, and on the 4th day of November, 1883, Mr. Miller was again married--Miss Della D. Biddle, who was born near Wauseon, Ohio, becoming his wife. They are the parents of one child, a daughter, Ruth, born March 30, 1888. Mr. and Mrs. Miller are members of the Christian Church; the former also belongs to Mystic Lodge, No. 55, of Mt. Pleasant, Iowa. A fine Christian gentleman, upright and honest, he deserves and receives the respect of all who know him, and his strict attention and fidelity to his business has won him the esteem and confidence of his employers.

John G. Miller, President and General Manager of the Burlington Insurance Company, was born in Muscatine, Iowa, Nov. 14, 1850. His residence there continued until Sept. 1, 1868, on which date he removed to Burlington and entered the service of the company of which he is now the principal officer. Beginning as solicitor, and personally unknown to any of the stockholders, his energy and success in securing business resulted soon afterward in his promotion to the position of special agent, and later on he was appointed the general agent. In this capacity his integrity and peculiar fitness for the work were recognized and so well appreciated by the company, that in July, 1874, they elected him Secretary and Director. In his administration of these important offices Mr. Miller's executive ability, conservative and careful business methods, gained the confidence of the stockholders, and the business of the company prospered so satisfactorily that in January, 1882, the company created the office of General Manager and consolisated it and the secretaryship. In October, 1884, Hon. Wolcott Seymour, then President of the Burlington, died, and Mr. Miller was unanimously elected his successor and installed as President and General Manager. He thus rose solely upon his individual merits from the humblest to the most responsible position in the gift of the company, having filled every position in the service and becoming thoroughly conversant with all the details of the business in each department. During his administration the cash capital of the company has been increased from time to time from $25,000 to $200,000. His promotions, from first to last, were entirely unsolicited on his part, and resulted only from the recognition by the Board of Directors of his ability and conservative character. Jan. 1, 1885, Mr. Miller was married to Miss Lessie E. Boner, daughter of Wesley R. Boner, an old and wealthy resident of Burlington.

John L. Miller, a prominent farmer residing on section 7, Pleasant Grove Township, Des Moines Co., Iowa, was born Jan. 26, 1826, in Macon County, Ill.  He was but ten years of age when he left home, and with his brothers came to Des Moines County, Iowa, settling in Pleasant Grove Township, in April, 1836.  At that early age he and his brothers began breaking prairie and developing a farm on section 7.  In June of the same year his parents sold their farm in Illinois and came to Iowa.  Our subject remained under the parental roof until he was twenty-seven years of age, but on the 19th day of May, 1853, he was united in marriage with Miss Anna Lee, a daughter of Frederick and Eliza Lee, of Henry County, Iowa.  She was born Aug. 8, 1830, in Bond County, Ill., and became a resident of Henry County, Iowa, in 1835, having emigrated to that county with her parents when but five years of age.  Mr. Miller's father, Frederick Lee, was also a native of Bond County, Ill., and his death occurred in January, 1880, at the advanced age of eighty years.  His wife was a native of Tennessee, and departed this life in Henry County, Jan. 19, 1879. The domestic life of our subject and his young wife was begun upon the farm, where he had resided since coming to Des Moines County, and which still continues to be their home.  Throughout his life Mr. Miller has been on a farm, and thoroughly understands the business in all its details.  He generally advocates and supports the principles of the Democratic party, but in the election of 1880 he voted for James A. Garfield, thinking that he would better fill the office of President than the candidate of the Democratic party.  Mr. and Mrs. Miller are worthy members of the United Brethren Church.  To this worthy couple were born two children:  Mary Jane, now the wife of Theodore Craig, is in the thirty-fourth year of her age; Iven L., born Oct. 19, 1864, remained with his parents until he attained his majority, when he went to Missouri, and there was united in marriage with Donna F. Hall, of Watson, Atchison County.  He then returned to Iowa and settled on a farm in Henry County.  As before stated, John L. Miller is a thorough farmer, and has gained by his own labors a fair competence.  He is now the owner of two well-cultivated farms, one comprising 118 acres and the other being 117 acres in extant. William Miller, the father of our subject, was a native of Pennsylvania. In early life he emigrated to Kentucky, and in 1815 became a resident of Macon County, Ill.  Making that his home for twelve years, he then took up his residence in Pleasant Grove Township, Des Moines Co., Iowa, on the farm which his sons had prepared for him.  He was united in marriage with Nancy Hanks, who was a native of Kentucky.  Mr. Miller engaged in the occupation of farming, and his death occurred in Polk County, Iowa, when seventy-two years of age.  Mrs. Miller departed this life in March, 1873.  They were both members of the Baptist Church.

Levi M. Miller, a prominent farmer and stock-raiser residing on section 14, Franklin Township, and a citizen of Des Moines County, Iowa, since 1855, was born in Warren County, N. J., April 1, 1829, and is a son of Jacob and Rachel (Mackie) Miller, the father of German ancestry, and the mother a native of Pennsylvania, where her people were early settlers. This worthy couple were the parents of eight children: William, now deceased; Barney, a farmer near Pontiac, Mich.; John, now retired, and living at Harmony, N. J.; Rosetta, deceased; Catherine, residing on the old homestead in Warren County, N. J.; Levi M., the subject of this sketch; Amzi B., who is a resident of New Jersey; Henry, engaged in farming on the old New Jersey homestead. The father of these children departed this life in 1844 at the age of fifty-three years.His whole life was spent upon a farm, and he was a soldier in the War of 1812, receiving a land warrant in return for his services. His wife died in 1881 at the age of eighty-two years. The childhood days of Levi Miller were passed in his native county, and his education was received in its common schools. His marriage was celebrated in Luzerne County, Pa., in 1852, Miss Priscilla Espy becoming his wife. She is a native of that county and her parents both died there. Ten children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Miller: Edward, born in Warren County, N. J.; Susan E., wife of A. C. Mann, General Superintendent of the telegraph department at Davenport, Iowa; Isa, wife of Dr. J. P. Kaster, surgeon of the Sante Fe Railroad at Albuquerque, New Mexico; Otis, a farmer of Aurora County, Dak.; Wallace, who is engaged in farming and mining at Independence, Cal.; Horace G.; CLyde, a telegraph operator at Davenport, Iowa; Mary L., also a telegraph operator at the same place, and Paul, still residing with his parents; Clarence died at the age of eight months.

While Des Moines County was yet in its infancy, Mr. Miller became one of its residents, purchasing 200 acres of partially improved land on section 14, Franklin Township, in 1855, which he immediately began to cultivate, and now has one of the finest farms in the community. A nice farm residence has been erected, his stock is of the best grades, and his out-buildings are models of convenience. Mr. Miller has held various township offices with credit to himself and satisfaction to his constituents. In politics he is a Republican, taking great interest in all political and public affairs, and he has been sent by his party as a delegate to the State convention. A fine musician, he has engaged as a vocal teacher, has taught all over this county, and from him many have learned the rudiments of vocal music. He was the leader of Miller's Glee Club, and his bright songs proved very effective during the campaigns. For many years Mr. Miller has been a member of the Masonic fraternity, and in every relation of life, public or private, has borne the repute of an upright man and a good citizen.

Miles M. Miller, a well-known farmer of Des Moines County, Iowa, resides on section 13, Yellow Spring Township, and is a native of the county, born in Franklin Township, Nov. 11, 1842. His parents were John S. and Melinda (Bishop) Miller, the former a native of Virginia and the latter of Rush County, Ind. His grandfather, John Miller, was born Jan. 7, 1790, in Virginia, and at an early day emigrated to Rush County, Ind., where he remained until early in 1836, when he decided to go farther West, and removed to the then Territory of Michigan, making a claim in what is now Franklin Township, Des Moines County, in the spring of that year. He and his brothers and his sons entered tracts of land lying east of what is known as the Green College School House, and extending back to the timber. They then returned to Indiana for their families, coming back in the fall, the Territory in the meantime having been changed to Wisconsin. On the land which John Miller entered, a squatter had built a cabin, which he purchased, and to this place brought his family. Here he lived for many years, but finally sold the land he had retained for himself and removed to Pleasant Grove, mainly to be near his Church, the Christian, or, as it was then called, the "Campbellite." Hi died there, Jan. 12, 1857, aged sixty-seven. His wife, Sarah (Smith) Miller, was born July 13, 1784, and died March 21, 1850, in her sixty-sixth year. They were the parents of six children: William K., Sarah, John S., Virginia, Harriet and Polly.

John S., father of Miles M., was a young lad when his parents removed to Indiana. He was brought up on the farm there, which he helped to clear, and was there married to Melinda Bishop, and there his three elder children were born. On coming to Des Moines County he engaged in improving the land he had entered, and on that place passed almost all of he latter years of his life, adding to his original claim by subsequent purchases. He took considerable interest in public affairs, but was not an office-seeker. He was of a kind disposition, sympathizing especially with the sick and afflicted, and was greatly esteemed. His labors in the new country gave him a competence, though not wealth. Three years prior to his death he removed to Mediapolis, where he died Jan. 29, 1877. His wife died Aug. 10, 1879. Their children were: Sarah, wife of I. H. Earl, a railroad contractor living at Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Harvey, Delanah and Louis, deceased; Miles M.; Jane, wife of G. Broome, also a railroad contractor, of Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Alice, wife of C. S. Rice, train-dispatcher at Waverly, Iowa; Annie, unmarried, and living at Cedar Rapids, and two children that died in infancy.

Miles M. Miller, the subject of this sketch, worked on his father's farm in summer, attending school in winter, until August, 1862, when, at the age of twenty, he responded to his country's call and enlisted in Company C, 30th Iowa Infantry. The regiment was attached to Sherman's Army, 15th Corps, under command of Gen. John A. Logan, and saw severe service in the Southwest. Company C was the color-company, and of the hundred men who were mustered in at Keokuk, and several subsequently added by enlistment, but twenty-eight remained to be mustered out at Davenport, at the close of the war. During their service the company lost six color-bearers, an indication of the casualties suffered. Mr. Miller took part with his company in many general engagements and minor fights. He was at the battle of Chickasaw Bayou, Miss., in December, 1862; at Arkansas Post, Jan. 11, 1863, where the regiment was at the front from early in the morning until the surrender of the rebel works in the afternoon, and in recognition of their gallantry Gen. McClernand selected their colors to be placed on the captured works. They next took part in the Vicksburg campaign, including the siege and surrender, after which they were in the attack on the rebel Gen. Johnston, at Jackson, Miss., driving his army back, and were then sent to Memphis, Tenn. From that place they marched to the relief of Chattanooga, where Mr. Miller, with his company, participated in the battles of Lookout Mountain, Mission Ridge, Ringgold and Lovejoy's Station, the campaign ending with the fight at the latter place. The regiment then went west, for three months, into winter quarters at Woodville, Ala. While there a competition in long-distance shooting was held, and Mr. Miller was one of those selected and appointed to the body of sharpshooters attached to Landgraver's, or better know as the "Flying Dutch Battery," and in that capacity took part in the entire Alabama campaign. The regiment was part of the army under Sherman which waved the historic signal to Gen. Corse at Altoona, to "Hold the Fort," and was in the advance on that march "from Atlanta to the sea," and was at the investment and surrender of Savannah, Ga. The 1st Brigade, 1st Division, 15th Corps, of which the 30th was a part, was the first to enter Columbia, S. C., and was there when the city was burned, their colors being hoisted on the court-house after the surrender. From Columbia they went to Goldsboro, N. C., and later took part in the last fight of Sherman's Army at Bentonville, N. C. Thence they went to Washington, D. C., and participated in the grand parade and review celebrating the close of the war.

During his three-years service Mr. Miller endured many hardships, but was never in a hospital, and was never wounded, except slightly in the left wrist at Ringgold, which did not disable him for duty. On his return to peaceful pursuits he engaged for a while in farm work, and the following year rented a farm in Yellow Spring Township, staying there until the spring of 1868, when he bought a farm in Jefferson County, Iowa, on which he lived until the fall of 1871, when he sold it and bought the farm on which he now resides, and on which his wife was born. On this place he has built a fine residence and good buildings. Mr. and Mrs. Miller have also become the owners of three other farms, all in the same school district, making about 500 acres, all under cultivation.

On Nov. 1, 1866, Mr. Miller was united in marriage with Miss Jennie S., daughter of William and Phoebe Ann Sheppard, natives of New Jersey and Indiana respectively, who emigrated to Iowa in 1843, settling on the farm where our subject now lives. Mr. Sheppard died of cholera in 1850, and his wife died March 13, 1868. Mr. Sheppard had been a teacher for many years before coming West, and followed that vocation for a few winters in Iowa, but mainly devoted his time to improving his farm, which comprised about 640 acres.

Mr. and Mrs. Miller have had ten children. Cora, Bessie, Mary Frances, and unnamed twins are deceased. The survivors are Allen E., now engaged in railroad business at Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Eva M., wife of Elta B. Conkling, a farmer of Washington Township, Des Moines County; John S., and Mattie and Hattie (twins) are with their parents.

Mr. Miller is a Republican in politics; is a member of Garner Lodge, No. 379, I. O. O. F., of Mediapolis; of Sheppard Post, No. 157, G. A. R., and he and his wife are both members of the First Presbyterian Church of Mediapolis. He is recognized as an enterprising and progressive farmer and leading citizen of the township in which he makes his home, always willing to do his share in enterprises for the public good.

A. E. Millspaugh, a former resident of Burlington, was born April 7, 1844, in the State of Ohio, and was a son of John W. and Harriet (Armstrong) Millspaugh. When he was about the age of ten years his parents removed from Ohio to Boonville, Ind., making that their home for nearly two years, when they emigrated to Iowa, locating in Mt. Pleasant, Henry County. The early life of our subject was spent in that city, where he took a complete course in Howe's Academy and a partial course in the Wesleyan University, after which he engaged in teaching for some time in that vicinity, and also at Salem, in the same county. At the age of twenty-one Mr. Millspaugh came to Burlington, where he secured the position of Principal of the South Hill School for four years, when, his health failing, he traveled for the two succeeding years, and upon his return again engaged in teaching, studying law in the meantime. Being admitted to the bar in 1876, he then formed a partnership with C. L. Poor, but in 1880 removed with his family to Winfield, Kan., there continuing in the practice of his chosen profession. In that State he was very successful, but, during his short stay, was soon taken sick, and died Sept. 26, 1880.

On the 18th of August, 1868, Mr. Millspaugh was united in marriage with Miss Irene Shelby, daughter of William H. H. and Mabel Shelby. Mrs. Millspaugh was born in Boonville, Ind., and reared a family of four children: Shelby E., now eighteen years of age; Crissie G., aged sixteen; Hattie M., aged fourteen; and Gracie, aged eleven. In politics Mr. Millspaugh was a strong Republican; religiously, he was a member of the Congregational Church in Burlington, and also was an active temperance worker. Highly educated, a man of unusual ability and integrity, and an active worker in the Sunday-school, he was much beloved by all, and was a man of exemplary character. He was a great lover of music, being a teacher of this art in his younger days; was the leader of this branch of worship in the Sunday-school, and some of the time Superintendent of Sunday-school, and was the first one to introduce music in the public schools of Burlington. Mr. Millspaugh was also Superintendent of the Mission Sunday-School, known at that time as the Mozart Mission, which, in connection with the Congregational Sunday-school, erected a tablet to his memory, which touching memorial the family most fully appreciate.

John Moard, proprietor of the Moard Granite and Marble Works, situated at 303 Division street, Burlington, Iowa, was born in Sweden, March 14, 1854, and that same year the parents, Andrew and Martha (Carlson) Moard, emigrated to America, landing in Boston and locating at Moline.  There were four children in the family.  During his early life our subject attended the common schools and was engaged in farming until nineteen years of age, at which time the family removed to Webster County, Iowa, the father there purchasing land, and upon this farm the parents yet reside.  John Moard went to Marshalltown, Iowa, and there learned his chosen trade, that of a marble-cutter, serving a term of apprenticeship of three years with McNeally & Co., of that city, and under their teaching became a first-class workman.  Coming to Burlington in 1876 Mr. Moard was engaged in working at his trade, and Nov. 13, 1878, in company with P. Stickle, formed the well known establishment of Stickle and Moard, continuing under that firm name until the fall of 1881, when he and his brother purchased the interest of Mr. Stickle.  In 1886, John Moard became sole proprietor, and being a first-class marble-cutter and designer, feels that he can give satisfaction to all.  Many of the finest monuments in this part of the county serve as testimonials to his skill.  He has won the confidence of the best class of citizens, not only of Iowa, but of Illinois and other States, by his fair and honest dealings.

Mr. Moard was united in marriage with Miss Gertrude M. Shield, who was born in the city of Chicago, Feb. 26, 1860, and is a daughter of Moses and Mary (Newberger) Shield, both of whom were natives of Virginia.  To Mr. and Mrs. Moard were born two children--Milton S. and Madeline M. Mr. Moard is a member of Excelsior Lodge, No. 268, I. O. O. F., of Burlington.

Levi Moffet, deceased, one of the earliest pioneers of Des Moines County, was born in Oppenheim, Montgomery Co., N. Y., May 10, 1800, and was the son of John and Abigail Moffet. He removed to Orangeville, Mercer Co., Ohio, in his youth, where he engaged in milling, and there was united in marriage, Jan. 29, 1824, with Miss Elizabeth Keck, daughter of Joseph and Katharena Keck. In 1833, Mr. Moffet made a tour of the West in search of a location for a new home. He crossed the Mississippi at the old ferry opposite Cascade, now the northern part of Burlington, made his way to Skunk River, where he selected a site for a mill and village, and returned to the East to prepare for the contemplated change of base. Organizing a colony of eleven families and taking with him, as a part of his outfit, a set of mill-stones and machinery, in the spring of 1835 he and the colony set out on their journey for the West. Their effects and families were loaded into flatboats, which were floated down a tributary to the Ohio River and thence to the Mississippi. At St. Louis, Mo., they met with a misfortune that caused serious trouble. Their fleet was wrecked by colliding with a steamer, and their household effects were thrown into the river, though all were saved, however, their only loss being that of their boats and the damage to their goods. The remainder of their journey was made by steamer. On arriving at their destination, Mr. Moffet founded the village of Augusta, at the site formally selected,a and at once set to work to build a gristmill, which was accomplished the following year, and which was the first mill erected in Iowa, and here settlers came from miles around, often having to camp out while waiting for their turn to have their grist ground. The mill was often full from floor to ceiling with unground grain, its capacity, not being equal to the demand. Mr. Moffet was a man of great enterprise and force of character, and he determined to help supply some of the demands of the surrounding country, which was rapidly becoming settled. He established a general store, built a carding-mill, established a ferry across the river at Augusta, and subsequently gave the right of way for a bridge at that point. He also built a distillery, which made a demand for the surplus corn of the surrounding country; and, with the assistance of eastern capital, built a passenger steamer called the "Maid of Iowa," which was the only steamer built at Augusta. She made regular trips for several years, between St. Louis and Keokuk. Mr. Moffet also owned large tracts of land adjacent to Augusta.The third year after his settlement at Augusta, our subject met with his first great trouble, his wife was taken from him by death, March 29, 1838, after a brief illness, leaving seven small children. After an interval of a half-century, the family history accounts for these children as follows: Joseph, the elder, married Miss Caroline Roff, a daughter of his step-mother, accompanied his father and two brothers to California in 1849, and subsequently returned to Augusta, where he succeeded his father in the milling business, and died in 1879; Julia married A. L. Graves and resides in Ottumwa, Iowa; Raynes, the second son, wedded Miss Caroline Hostetter and lives at Bear Mountain, Ark., where he is interested in mining; John became the husband of Miss Dacy Martin, of Healdsburg, Cal., where he resided until his death in 1884; Lucinda is the wife of H. T. Fairbanks, of Petaluma, Cal.; Elizabeth died at the age of twelve years; and Esther died in infancy.The history of Mr. Moffet's second marriage, which occurred June 17, 1840, is somewhat romantic. In 1836, while he was preparing to build his mill, a Mr. John L. Roff, from St. Louis, stopped at Augusta, while prospecting for a location, and being a millwright and cabinet-maker by trade, was employed by Mr. Moffet to prepare plans for the new mill and aid in its construction, during which he was an inmate of our subject's home. Mr. Roff was so well pleased with Augusta and his new acquaintances that he brought his family, consisting of his wife and two children, to that place in June, 1838. It happened that Mrs. Moffet died a few weeks later and Mr. Roff made her burial casket. The August following, he was taken sick and died, leaving a widow and two children among comparative strangers. Two years passed away, and in 1840, Mr. Moffet and Mrs. Roff united their fortunes and were married. The lady, whose maiden name was Antoinette Chauvin, was the daughter of Jacques Chauvin, who was the son of Capt. Jacques Chauvin, who commanded the French post at Kaskaskia on the Illinois River, now Utica, of La Salle County, in 1774. Mr. Chauvin was born at St. Louis in 1782, when that place was but a small French village.Mrs. Moffet was united in marriage with her first husband, Oct. 11, 1833, when she was eighteen years of age, and three children graced the union: Caroline is the widow of Joseph Moffet, and resides at Augusta, Iowa; Rofena was the wife of Israel Sunderland, now living in Chicago; Isabel died in infancy. In 1849, Mr. Moffet had an attack of what was called the gold fever, and, accompanied by his three sons, Joseph, John and Raynes, crossed the plains to California, but after a year spent in the fold regions, he returned to his home in Iowa, and pursued his former vocation. Mr. Moffet was peculiarly qualified for the life of a pioneer; cool, courageous, and possessed of indomitable energy, generous and warm hearted, his hospitability was unbounded, and the rich or poor, white man of Indian, was always welcome within. He was the leading spirit of his region, was universally esteemed and respected; his habits were simple and temperate, and although he and his sons operated a distillery for years, not one of them was addicted to the habit of drinking--in fact, they never used either liquor of tobacco.When but little past the prime of life, Mr. Moffet was called to his final home, his death occurring March 31, 1857, aged fifty-seven, and sincere grief was felt by a large circle of relations and friend. He was a Democrat in political sentiment,a s were all his sons except John, but was never ambitious of official honors, always having too many business projects on his hand to give time to public affairs.By his second marriage, Mr. Moffet's family consisted of six children, one son and five daughters: Emily, the eldest, died in infancy; Augustus died in childhood; Euphemia, wife of Charles Hibler, of Sulphur Springs, Ark.; Josephine died in infancy; Zora is the wife of George Finck, of Burlington, Iowa; and Lillie resides in Augusta, where all the children were born. Mrs. Moffet, who was a lady of rare grace and refinement, mourned her husband for many years. She was born at St. Louis, Oct. 22, 1815, and died at her home in Augusta, Jan. 28, 1888. She had seen much of pioneer life, and in early times had entertained as her guests the great chief Black Hawk and other noted celebrities of those days. In character and disposition, Mrs. Moffet was courageous, yet gentle, cheerful and amiable, ever ready to minister to those in trouble and encourage to good by her loving words and pure example. In her religious views, she was a devout Catholic, living up to the requirements of her Church from early childhood, and her life was a continuous example of goodness and virtue to her family, her friends and the world.

In February, 1857, before the death of Mr. Moffet, the old mill was swept away in a great freshet, and proved a total loss. Joseph rebuilt the mill on an improved plan, carrying on the business up to the spring of 1877, when he sold the mill to William Fisher, the present owner, and he with his two younger sons, Charles and Ramo, went to Joplin, Mo., where he was largely interested in the lead mines, and where he remained until his death, in 1879. During another freshet in August, 1879, one of the original stones of the old mill, the first in the State, was discovered in the bed of the river. A comparison of that rude old granite with the three run of French Buhrs, strikingly illustrates the difference between the pioneer days and the present time. Mr. Fisher had it placed under some willow trees that grew at the side of the mill, where it no doubt is an object of interest to those surviving pioneers who ate mush made from meal ground by it.

Francis Moore, deceased, was one of the pioneers of Des Moines County, Iowa. He was born in County Cavan, Ireland, March 5, 1786, and at the age of seven years came to America with his parents, William and Jane (Dowler) Moore, settling first near Hagerstown, Md., where his education was received. Later the family removed to Ohio County, W. Va., where our subject was united in marriage with Miss Annie Ward, a native of that portion of Ohio County which is now Marshall County. There eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Moore: Elizabeth, wife of J. L. Hanna, a farmer of Danville Township, Des Moines Co., Iowa; William R., who married Mary R. Parriott, of Marshall County, W. Va.; Jane, wife of William Moore, who, though of the same name, was no relation; Joseph became a resident of Nebraska, where his death occurred later; J. W., whose sketch appears in this work; Thomas and George were twins; the former died in Virginia and the latter in Des Moines County; Sarah A. wedded Benjamin B. Jester, a farmer of Danville Township, Des Moines Co., Iowa.In 1837 Francis Moore made a trip to Iowa, and being well pleased with the country, determined upon Des Moines County as the place of his future residence. The following year he returned for his family, and they reached Burlington April 11, 1838. With the assistance of his sons he followed the township stakes from Burlington to the proposed farm in Danville Township. Mr. Moore entered a claim and developed a fine farm, which is now in possession of one of his grandchildren, J. C. Hanna. He was the owner of 250 acres of finely improved land at the time of his death, which occurred in 1859, at the age of seventy-three.Although of Irish parentage Mr. Moore was a Protestant, and he and his wife were both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. His motto was "Peace on earth, good-will to men," which perhaps no man better carried out. Of sound judgment and very accommodating, he aided many who through discouragement or failure were ready to abandon the pioneer homes of the new county. His hospitable home was open to all worthy ones, and his charity and love gained for him the good will of all with whom he came in contact. He never had the least desire to fill public office, and many times refused positions which were offered to him. At one time he was solicited to accept the position to attend the Territorial Convention, but preferring private life did not do so. To his friends, Mr. Moore was ever faithful; unassuming, honest and upright, he filled his place in society, and when called to his final rest the loss was severely felt. Being a steadfast and consistant member of the Methodist Episcopal Church for more than fifty years, he died at peace with all men. Like her husband, Mrs. Moore was also a lifelong member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and a devoted Christian woman, early teaching her children to follow the only true example, that of Christ. The Moore family has been a remarkable one, only seven deaths occurring in seventy years in the family of seventy children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren.

John Moore, a farmer residing on section 5, Union Township, Des Moines Co., Iowa, was born in Clarion County, Pa., Oct. 8, 1832, and is a son of Samuel and Mary (Neely) Moore, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania. In 1842, when ten years of age, he came to Des Moines County with his parents, settling in Flint River Township, where the death of his mother occurred in 1870, and of the father in 1872. They were both members of the Presbyterian Church, devoted Christian people, and were highly respected in the community where they resided.Our subject received his education in the district schools of the county, and his occupation has always been that of farming. At the age of twenty-eight he left the parental roof, starting out in life for himself, and on the 17th of October, 1861, was united in marriage with Miss Susan Burk, a daughter of Lemmon Burk, whose sketch appears on another page of this work. He then took charge of his father's farm, making that his home until about the year 1873, when he sold his interest, purchasing eighty acres of land on section 5, Union Township. At that time there were no improvements on the land except a fence surrounding it, but the work of cultivation was immediately begun and the land developed into one of the most beautiful and highly improved in the township. A comfortable two-story residence was built, the main part being 24x30 feet, and the L, 16x20 feet. The dimensions of the barn are 36x40.Mr. and Mrs. Moore have spared neither labor nor money in making a comfortable and beautiful home for themselves and their children, now four in number, only one having been taken from them. Mabel, the eldest child, was educated in this county. In 1886, in company with two of her cousins, she started for Colorado, where she improved a claim of 160 acres, residing there until January, 1888, when, with a colony of fourteen, she went to New Mexico and aided in the founding of a town known as Gladstone, in which the inhabitants resolved that no one should purchase a lot for the purpose of erecting a building thereon in which to sell liquor of any kind. The other children of the family are Maud E., Walter C. and Trixie, all at home. Mr. and Mrs. Moore have given their children a good education and are among the highly respected citizens of the community in which they reside. He has held various township offices; in politics he is a Republican, and is one of the leading farmers of the county.

John W. Moore, a general farmer and stock-raiser residing on section 9, Augusta Township, Des Moines Co., Iowa, was born in Marshall County, W. Va., April 2, 1829, and is a son of Francis and Annie (Ward) Moore.  The father was a native of Ireland and emigrated with his parents to America in his youth; the mother was born in Virginia.  In 1838 our subject came with his parents to Des Moines County.  His early education was received in his native county, but after coming to Des Moines, he attended the district schools.  His father helped build the first school-house in the neighborhood.  He also attended one term of school in Mt. Pleasant, after which he remained at home on his father's farm until the 22d of December, 1859, when he was united in marriage with Sarah D. Gregg, a daughter of Azariah Gregg, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this work.  After the death of his father, which occurred Oct. 26, 1859, Mr. Moore assumed the management of the home farm for his mother, and there resided until 1865, after the death of his mother, when he purchased 320 acres of land, where he now resides, upon sections 3, 4 and 9 of Augusta Township, which is now one of the finest farms in the township. Three children grace the union of Mr. and Mrs. Moore:  William F., who wedded Miss Nellie Palmer, of St. Joseph, Mo., is now engaged in the grain business at Harrington, Kan.; Fannie E., wife of Charles B. Stull, in the employ of Chittenden & Eastman, of Burlington; Clara Belle, still at home. Mr. and Mrs. Moore have given their children a good education, thus fitting them for useful and responsible positions in life.  They, as well as their children, are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which Mr. Moore has filled various offices.  In his political views, he is an ardent supporter of the Republican party.  He has always taken an active interest in all matters pertaining to the public good, and has served his township several terms as one of the Board of Trustees, and is strictly temperate in all his habits.

Thomas C. Moore, a stone-cutter, and one of the respected citizens of Burlington, Iowa, was born on the Isle of Man, Aug. 12, 1822, and his parents, Thomas and Ann (Callon) Moore, were also natives of the same isle. Eight children were born to them, three of whom are living:  Thomas, of this sketch; William, residing near Belle Plaine, Minn.; and Catherine, wife of James Kelley, of Chicago.  Mr. and Mrs. Moore were both members of the Episcopal Church, and were highly respected in the country where they resided. The subject of this sketch was educated on his native isle, and at the age of sixteen, went with his parents to England, and there, their death occurring soon afterward, he was thrown upon his own resources. Apprenticing himself to learn the trade of a stone-mason, he served four years, receiving, as a compensation, his board and the time in which he might earn his clothes.  In 1847, in England, the marriage of Thomas C. Moore and Miss Ellen Bowen was celebrated, and by this union two children were born, one of whom is living--John, now a resident of Manchester, England, and Henry is deceased.  Mrs. Moore died in England. Mr. Moore emigrated to America in 1852, locating at Rockford, Ill., and in 1857 he went to Keokuk County, Iowa, where he enlisted, June 13, 1861, in the 1st Iowa Cavalry, and was mustered in at Burlington, the regiment then going to St. Louis.  Mr. Moore participated in the raid against Price, and was detached with four companies of the regiment to intercept a part of the forces at Black Water, they capturing 1,300 rebels, without losing a man. For the first year and a half the regiment was stationed on the border of the bushwhacker's territory.  Mr. Moore served three years and three months, was always found at his post of duty, and was honorably discharged at Davenport, Iowa, Sept. 5, 1864.  He was detailed on detached service as musician, and was afterward in the regimental band.  In 1864, after his discharge, he came to Burlington, where he has since resided.  He was united in marriage, in Beloit, Wis., July 12, 1854, with Miss Emily Bristow, a native of England.  Mrs. Moore was born in England in the year 1833, and while young, emigrated to America with her parents.  By this union there are five living children--Robert, Albert, William, Lillie and George.  Those deceased are Addie, Ella and Thomas.  Politically, Mr. Moore is a Republican, though he could not be termed a politician, and cast his first vote for Abraham Lincoln.  Mrs. Moore is a member of the Baptist Church.

William R. Moore, general farmer, residing on section 4, Augusta Township, Des Moines Co., Iowa, was born March 12, 1820, in Ohio (now Marshall) County, W. Va., and is a son of Francis and Annie (Ward) Moore, whose sketch appears on another page of this work. He received his education in his native county, where he lived until eighteen years of age, when the family migrated to Iowa, William being sent overland with the horses, coming thorough Ohio, Indiana and Illinois, by the National Pike, passing through the cities of Columbus, Indianapolis and Springfield. After spending about ten years on the farm he turned his attention to the carpenter trade, which he followed continually for about fifteen years, having several men in his employ, and contracting and building many of the finest farm residences in the county.On the 21st of April, 1851, in Marshall County, W. Va., Mr. Moore was united in marriage with Miss Mary R. Parriott, who is also a native of that county, and a daughter of Col. John Parriott, who was a native of Berkeley County, W. Va., and a prominent citizen of Marshall County, where his death occurred. For many years he was Justice of the Peace, during which time he performed many wedding ceremonies, and for several terms was a Representative in the State Legislature, and also served a few terms as State Senator.Mr. and Mrs. Moore were the parents of seven children: John P. wedded Miss Ellen Murray, and now resides in Lake County, Cal.; Anna Belle is the wife of John O. Evans, a railroad contractor, whose home is in Spencer, Iowa; Frank died at the early age of nine years; Watson L. married Miss Katie Bradley, of Wichita Falls, Tex., and is a resident of Los Angeles, Cal.; Eugene W., a carpenter of Los Angeles, Cal.; Elbert E. and Myrtle are still residing at home.

In 1853 Mr. Moore made his first purchase of land, consisting of a 60-acre tract on section 4, and 100 acres on section 8 of Augusta Township, and at once took possession of the land, and immediately began its cultivation. He is now the owner of 174 acres of well-improved land, which, with the improvements he has placed upon it, makes it a most beautiful farm and one of the best in this section. His two-story farm residence was planned and erected under his own supervision. Mr. and Mrs. Moore are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and in their younger days were active workers for that organization, filling a number of the offices in the Church. In early life he was a Whig in politics and a strong anti-slavery man, and at the organization of the Republican party he was one of the first to embrace its principles, and is still one of its most ardent supporters. He has held various township offices of trust, and for one year was a member of the County Board of Supervisors. A great reader, he keeps himself well posted upon all public matters, is a man of sound judgment, and as a citizen no one ranks higher than WIlliam R. Moore.

Henderson P. Morgan, one of the prominent pioneers and representative citizens of Burlington, Iowa, comes of good old Revolutionary stock. His paternal grandfather, John Morgan, was a native of Virginia, and served during the Revolutionary War, his patriotism and valor sustaining him through those eight years of bloodshed. He was of Welsh descent, while his maternal grandfather was of Scotch origin. Henderson Morgan is a native of Miami County, Ohio, born Nov. 10, 1831, and is a son of George and Eliza (McKee) Morgan, the former a native of Licking County, Ky., the latter of Virginia. George Morgan, with his parents, John and Priscilla Morgan, went to Miami County, Ohio, about the year 1825, and from the raw land developed a farm. Residing there until 1839, he emigrated to Iowa, settling in Burlington, and again improving a farm, which was situated on what is now known as North Hill Addition. After much care and cultivation had been bestowed upon this farm, it was found that there was a prior claim and the land had to be given up. Mr. Morgan then resided in Burlington, or in that vicinity, until his death, which occurred Feb. 8, 1861, at the age of fifty-one years, his wife preceding him many years to the unknown world, dying in 1842, when only thirty-two years of age. Religiously, he was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, while his wife belonged to the Presbyterian Church. A Whig in politics in early life, he at the organization of the party became a Republican. A conservative man of strong convictions and of resolute will, he was everywhere respected. A family of six sons graced their union, all of whom grew to manhood--William was a soldier in the 1st Iowa Cavalry, served through the war, and is now a resident farmer of Tulare County, Cal.; Thomas is engaged in farming in Tulare County, Cal.; our subject is third in order of birth; George died in Burlington in 1865, at the age of thirty-two years; Richard, a farmer residing in Tulare County, Cal., was one of the brave boys in blue, a member of Company C, 1st Iowa Cavalry; Marshall is a resident of Burlington. Reared on a farm in his native State until the age of eight years, Henderson Morgan then came with his parents to Des Moines County in its early pioneer days. At the age of sixteen, he apprenticed himself to the plasterer's trade with Daniel Haskell, serving a term of two years, and the business then learned has been followed to this day, the plastering of some of the oldest buildings in the city having been contracted by him. In 1851, he was united in marriage with Miss Mary Rife, a native of Lancaster County, Pa., and a daughter of Abraham and Frances (Weaver) Rife, both of whom were also natives of Lancaster County, Pa., and of German parentage. Mr. and Mrs. Morgan have been the parents of eight children--Frances E., the eldest child, was taken from them when but two years of age; Edward is a clerk in the Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern freight depot; Anna, wife of Charles Henshaw, a carpenter and builder of Topeka, Kan.; Evans, a carriage trimmer by trade, residing in Mercer, Cal.; Lydia, wife of R. F. Patterson, the Methodist Church Minister of Keota, Iowa; Allen is a printer of Chicago; Luticia and Harvey are still residing with their parents. Mr. and Mrs. Morgan are devoted members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, having become members of that body in 1851. He has been a Class-Leader for over twenty years, and his time and money is cheerfully given to aid in his Master's cause. Politically, he affiliates with the Republican party, and aids largely in the work of prohibition. Without financial aid and commencing life a poor boy, by habits of industry and economy he has gained a competence and reared and educated a family of children who do honor to the name of Morgan. In 1839, what is now flourishing farms was unbroken raw land, the populous and prosperous city of Burlington was but a village, and the work of transformation and civilization was performed by Henderson Morgan and other pioneers, and it is with pleasure that we record their sketches.

Henry M. Morgan, County Missionary of the American Sunday School Union, residing at 1313 Sumner street, Burlington, Iowa, was born in Chautauqua County, N. Y., Sept. 14, 1839, and is a son of Comfort B. and Betsy (Mitchell) Morgan.  To them were born thirteen children, four of whom are yet living.  The grandfather of our subject was a soldier in the Revolutionary War, and Comfort B. Morgan fought in the War of 1812 and was wounded at the battle of Black Rock.  Levi S. Morgan, brother of our subject, was a soldier in the late war, a member of the 124th Illinois Infantry, and died from disease contracted while in the service.  Comfort B. Morgan, with his family, removed from New York to Kendall County, Ill., in 1844, where the father purchased a farm and died three years later.  He and his wife were both members of the Baptist Church and earnest workers for their Master.  Mrs. Morgan survived her husband for some years, dying in Jackson, Mich., in 1861, at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Sophronia Russell, whose death occurred a few days after the death of her mother.  The remaining children are Lovina, wife of Hiram B. Carr, a carpenter of Columbus Junction, Iowa; Almina wedded Frederick Hoffstrom, a farmer of Johnson City, St. Clair Co., Mo.; and Mrs. John Waldfogel, whose husband is a machinist at Atchison, Kan. The early life of our subject was spent in Kendall County, Ill., where he attended the district schools until nine years of age, when he went with his mother to Aurora, Ill., also attending school in that city until the age of fourteen, and then entered a printing office, working at that trade until the breaking out of the Civil War, where he was among the first to respond to the country's call for troops, enlisting in Capt. Hawley's battery for State service, and was stationed at Cairo, Ill., during the three months of his enlistment.  On the 28th of September, 1861, he again enlisted for three years in Battery C, Chicago Artillery, and in November of that year was transferred to the 1st Regiment New York Light Artillery.  He participated in twelve of the most important and seven of the minor engagements of the war, among which were the battles of Fair Oaks, Malvern Hill, siege of Yorktown, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Bristow Station, Battle of the Wilderness, Spottsylvania Court House, Cold Harbor and Petersburg.  After three years of hard service, in which he nobly did his duty, he was discharged. Returning to Aurora, Mr. Morgan cast his ballot for Abraham Lincoln, our martyred President, and then went to Chicago, where he worked in the office of the Evening Journal, continuing in that employment until 1873, when he was appointed clerk in the railway mail service, and was thus engaged until September, 1886, when a change of administration caused him to lose his position. On the 14th of September, 1866, Mr. Morgan wedded Miss Belle McEwen, who was born in Edinburg, Scotland, Dec. 17, 1841, and is a daughter of Thomas and Mary (Furgeson) McEwing.  The father died in his native land and the mother and four children emigrated to America in 1855, settling in Chicago, where the mother's death occurred in 1865.  Their children are Jessie, deceased wife of George Fyfe; Margaret, wife of George Milne, a resident of Chicago; Mary, who wedded Peter Edwards of Kintail, Ontario; and Belle, the wife of our subject. After quitting the mail service, Mr. Morgan was appointed to the work of Missionary, in which he has been engaged continuously since.  He and his wife removed to Burlington in 1876, and are the parents of four children: Levi H., born May 24, 1868; Cora Belle, March 22, 1870; Mary L., Feb. 9, 1872; and Arthur B., Jan. 5, 1874.  Mr. and Mrs. Morgan and family are all members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.  In July, 1887, he received a license as a Local Preacher. 

Samuel N. Moyers Among the pioneer settlers of Des Moines County, Iowa, of 1839 we are pleased to record the name of Mr. Moyers, who was born in Greene County, Ill., Jan. 31, 1827, and is a son of Jacob and Sarah (Rogers) Moyers.  The father, who was of German descent, was born in Franklin County, Pa., in 1797, and the mother, who was of Scotch parentage, was a native of Kentucky.  In 1804 when only nine years of age, Jacob Moyers went with his brother and sister to Cincinnati, Ohio, in which vicinity he worked as a farm hand until 1826.  He was married in 1818 to Sarah Rogers, who was born March 16, 1802.  Eight years later the young couple emigrated to Greene County, Ill., where the husband purchased eighty acres of raw land, which he greatly improved during his residence there.  Again taking up the march of westward progress, in 1839 the family came to Des Moines County, locating in Burlington Township, where Mr. Moyers purchased 160 acres of land, and there lived until his death, which occurred June 13, 1863.  His wife survived him for four years, when she too was summoned to the unknown world, her death occurring Sept. 16, 1867.  They were both devoted members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.  He served as a soldier in the Black Hawk War.  This worthy couple reared a family of nine children:  Eliza Ann, wife of J. Lacons, of Carrollton, Ill.; Joel who died at the age of eighteen years; John W. was fifteen years of age at the time of his death; Samuel, our subject; Andrew Jackson died March 30, 1862, at the age of thirty-two years; Susan Jane, wife of James Rexroat, of Macomb, Ill.; George W., a resident of Des Moines County, Iowa; B. Franklin, who is now residing in Southwestern Missouri; and J. Josiah, living in Illinois. Coming to Des Moines County in 1839, Mr. Moyers has witnessed its transformation from a wild, uninhabited region to one of the finest counties in the grand State of Iowa.  He was married Aug. 6, 1846, to Lucinda H. Deen, a native of Lewis County, W. Va., born June 15, 1824, and a daughter of Jacob and Judy (Cox) Deen, the father a native of Rockingham County, Va., the mother of Pendleton County, Va.  Her parents came to Des Moines Co. in November, 1844, settling in Benton Township, where the father died in 1866, at the age of sixty years.  He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.  His wife still resides in Benton Township at the advanced age of ninety-two.  The young couple began their domestic life on a rented farm in Benton Township, and two years later, by economical living, were enabled to purchase fifty-seven acres of land on section 13 of Benton Township.  By untiring zeal and good management more land was added, until they were the possessors of 120 acres, all under cultivation.  Upon the original fifty-seven acres there were no improvements except a small cabin, but when the farm was sold there was 110 acres of rich cultivated land, a handsome two-story residence, which was erected at a cost of $2,500, and a barn 20x30 feet, costing $800, and another barn 36x48 feet, the cost of which was $1,000.  After selling his property in 1884, Mr. Moyers purchased seven acres of land and eight lots in Mediapolis, also becoming the owner of a handsome two-story residence worth $3,000.  All difficulties of early life were overcome, all trials surmounted by the untiring zeal and industry of Mr. Moyers and his good wife.  Their labor was successful, and they now have a comfortable competence, by which they are enabled to pass their declining years in retirement from all active work.  They are both consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.  Mr. Moyers is a Democrat in politics, though endorsing the principles advocated by the Union Labor party, and has held the office of Township Trustee. This worthy couple have had four children:  Marietta, died at the age of fourteen; George W., is a farmer of Louisa County, Iowa; Sarah, deceased wife of James Larkin of Franklin Township, Des Moines County; and Jacob N., now residing in Oskaloosa.

John W. Murphy, editor and proprietor of the Saturday Evening Post, Burlington, Iowa, was born in Clark County, Mo., Jan. 10, 1857. His father, J. F. Murphy, is a native of Kentucky, while his mother, whose maiden name was Mary E. Resor, is a native of Virginia. They were among the earliest settlers of Clark County, Mo., moving there with their parents, and there marrying. Both are yet living in the town of Luray, in that county, where they settled more than a half-century ago. They had a family of five children, John W. being their second child. He was reared in his native county, receiving only the advantages of a common-school education. Before reaching his fifteenth year he commenced to learn the machinist's trade, at which he worked about two and one-half years. The printer's trade being better suited to his taste, he left the machine-shop, and entered a printing-office at Kahoka, the county seat of Clark County. After working at the trade one year in that office, he went to Alexandria, Mo., purchased the office of the Commercial in that city, and for the next four years engaged in its publication, achieving some reputation as a newspaper man. Selling out, he was offered and accepted the position of business manager of the Keokuk (Iowa) Constitution, where he remained one year. He then came to Burlington as city editor of the Burlington Hawk-Eye, but only occupied that position about three months, when, believing there was a good opening in that city for another weekly newspaper, he purchased material, and commenced the publication of the Saturday Evening Post. (See history of the paper in article on the Press.) In the publication of that paper his energies have since been employed. He is an easy and fluent writer, fearless in the expression of his opinions, and gets up a very readable paper. Mr. Murphy and Nellie Lowdon were united in marriage at Luray, Mo., Feb. 23, 1878. She is a native of Lee County, Iowa, her parents being among its pioneers, her father, R. M. Lowdon, being one of its most prominent citizens, and at one time serving the county as a member of the Legislature. At the time of the marriage of his daughter Nellie, the family were living in Luray. Four children blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Murphy--Mabel, Marcia, Nellie and John W.

Christopher Myers, deceased, a pioneer of Des Moines County, Iowa, was born in Prussia, March 6, 1808, where he was reared upon a farm. He was married in 1832 in Germany, and in 1833 the young couple emigrated to America, locating first in Bucks County, Pa., where they remained about a year and then became residents of Westmoreland County, making that their home until 1844, when they emigrated to Iowa, locating in Benton Township, Des Moines County. Mr. Myers purchased forty acres of land on section 22, and resided upon that farm for the succeeding two years. Selling out he moved to another farm in Franklin Township, and for the next five years rented in various parts of the county. In 1851 he purchased six acres of land in Burlington Township, and continued its cultivation until 1867, at which time he became the owner of eighty acres of land on section 26, Benton Township, and made that his home until his death, which occurred on the 5th of January, 1879. Two years later, on the 26th of March, 1881, his wife was called to her final rest. Five children were born to this worthy couple: John F., a farmer of Benton Township; Sarah wedded Louis Flint of Burlington, Iowa; Louisa became the wife of Charles Ort, a resident farmer of Burlington Township; Margaret, widow of Christopher Wiley, now resides in Burlington Township; and Mary, the youngest child, is now the wife of Joseph Schuler, who is engaged in farming in Benton Township.Mr. and Mrs. Myers were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church and earnest workers in their Master's vineyard. Mr. Myers was a conservative man, an able thinker, and in politics was a Democrat. Being one of the honored and respected pioneers of Des Moines County, his death was sincerely mourned by a large circle of friends.

John F. Myers, one of the leading farmers of Des Moines County, Iowa, residing on section 26, Benton Township, was born in Bucks County, Pa., June 24, 1834, of German parentage. When a lad of ten years, he came to this county with his parents, and in 1851 he wedded Dorothea Beck, a native of Wurtemberg, Germany. By their marriage, eight children were born: Sophia, who wedded Philip Broom of Burlington Township; Christ Henry still residing at home; Sarah died at the age of three years; John H. died in infancy; John F., Louisa, Margaret and Luella are still inmates of the paternal home. In October, 1865, the mother of these children was called to her home, and on the 17th of January, 1878, Mr. Myers was again united in marriage Miss Amelia Deam, a native of Clarke County, Ohio, becoming his wife. Mrs. Myers is a daughter of Frederick Deam, also a native of Clarke County, who came to Des Moines County in 1853, settling in Burlington Township, where his death occurred in 1872, in the seventy-first year of his age.Our subject commenced this life without financial aid, but by his business ability, energy and enterprise, he has steadily gained of the world's goods until he now has a comfortable competence. His first money was earned by splitting rails and chopping wood at fifty cents per cord, but he now owns 240 acres of fine land, all of which was secured through his own industry. In his political views Mr. Myers is a Democrat, and he and his wife are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

Rev. Thomas J. Myers, Presiding Elder of Burlington District, Methodist Episcopal Church, was born in Warren Co., near La Fayette, Ind., June 7, 1840, and is a son of Reuben and Sally (Moore) Myers, the father born in Maryland, March 29, 1815, of German parentage, and the mother near Chillicothe, Ohio, of Scotch-Irish descent.  The family emigrated to Iowa in May, 1843, locating in Washington Township, Wapello County, where the parents still reside.  Mr. Myers, Sr., is both a farmer and local preacher, and is a highly-respected citizen of that township. Our subject took an academic course at the Ashland Seminary, and entered the Iowa Wesleyan University at Mt. Pleasant, remaining there until his studies were interrupted by the breaking out of the late war and his enlistment in the service.  On the 13th of June, 1861, he became a member of Company I, 1st Iowa Cavalry, under Col. Fitz-Henry Warren, was promoted to First Duty Sergeant, and served until he was mustered out, Sept. 9, 1864. He participated in the battles of Black Water, Silver Creek, Chalk Bluff and Prairie Grove, Mo., Bayou Metre and the capture of Little Rock, Ark.  He was peculiarly fortunate in escaping injury and preserving his health, and was always ready for duty. On his return from the war, Mr. Myers pursued a course of theological study at the Garrett Biblical Institute at Evanston, Ill., for two years, and was admitted to the Iowa Methodist Episcopal Conference in the fall of 1869, being ordained Deacon in 1871 and Elder in 1873.  His first charge was at New Sharon, his next at Otley, then Belle Fountain, after which came Kirksville, Kossuth, Danville, South Burlington, and he is now serving his fourth year as Presiding Elder of the Burlington District.  At the last Annual Conference, in 1887, he was elected Reserve Delegate to the General Conference to be held in New York in 1888.

On the 16th of September, 1869, in Knox County, Ill., Mr. Myers was united in marriage with Miss Eliza J. Morrison, daughter of John and Harriet Morrison.  She was born at Senecaville, Guernsey Co., Ohio.  Four children grace their union, three sons and a daughter:  Edward M., born May 16, 1872, in Marion County, Iowa; Mary L., born in Mahaska County, Iowa, Feb. 10, 1874; Charles H., born in Des Moines County, Jan. 22, 1880; and John F., born Jan. 10, 1882.  Mr. Myers has now been in the ministry nineteen years, during which time he has worked with zeal and ability in his holy calling, and has won a foremost place in the Conference with which he has been connected so many years.

William J. D. Myers, coal, wood and ice merchant of Burlington, Iowa, was born in Beamsville, Lincoln Co., Ontario, Canada, April 6, 1841, and is the son of Garrett and Celia Myers. His parents were natives of the United States, his father being born July 26, 1807, and his mother March 10, 1809, both in Dutchess County, N. Y., where they were reared. They were married in that county May 20, 1835, and in 1836 removed to Canada. The early life of our subject was spent in a lumber region, and during his boyhood he learned the trade of sawyer. When seventeen years of age he went to St. Joseph, Mo., where he spent one year, and then emigrated farther West, passing two years on the plains, where he was employed by the government, driving team and freighting, after which he was farming in Illinois for a year and a half. He enlisted in August, 1862, as a private of Company G, 108th Illinois Infantry, and served three years. His regiment was assigned to the 16th Army Corps, participated in the siege of Vicksburg, and was with Sherman in all his principal battles, including his March to the Sea. From LaGrange, Tenn., he was transferred to Company H, 1st Missouri Light Artillery, and from that time until the close of the war was in charge of a gun. Among the engagements in which he participated were Chickasaw Bayou, Miss.; Arkansas Post, Ark.; Port Gibson, Miss.; Champion Hills; siege and capture of Vicksburg; siege of Atlanta; Goldsboro; Savannah, Ga.; Columbia, S. C.; Mill Creek, N. C., and various other skirmishes. About three months before his discharge he returned to his original company. He was mustered out of service at Vicksburg, Aug. 5, 1865. On his return from the South he located at Peoria, Ill., entering the service of the Toledo, Peoria & Warsaw Railroad Company, was made foreman of the car department, and continued in their employ until 1876, when he engaged in the ice business at Burlington, Iowa. In the fall of 1887 he added coal and wood to his line of business, in which trade he has been quite successful. (See sketch of business under its department in this work.)

At Peoria, Ill., Feb. 1, 1866, Mr. Myers was united in marriage with Miss Mary V. Long, a native of Peoria and a daughter of Christian Long. Their union has been blessed with four children, two sons and two daughters: Warren C., William W., Celia and Jennie. The three elder children were born in Peoria and the youngest in Burlington. Mr. Myers is independent in politics, and is a member of Lodge No. 15, A. O. U. W., of Burlington. He also belongs to the Walnut Street Baptist Church of this city, and his wife is a member of the same society.