Early Petition for the Formation of Harrison County

Harrison County Petition November 1777

This was provided by Charlotte Flemingwho received it from Daniel A. and Jane A. Hogsden.

Legislative Petition, Augusta County 1776-1783, Box A, Virginia
Archives, Richmond, Virginia.  The document in the Virginia Archives in
a handwritten copy of the original petition.  

  We are informed
that the old part of Augusta are Petitioning to have the same
Divided into Smallor Counties for the Conveniencey of the
People:  We your Petitioners - Humbly pray we may not be join'd
to any County that lies to the East of the Allegania Mountains,
nor Included in any County on the Wasters of James River or the
South branch of Powtomack, nor Mononglia County, for we flatter
ourselves we are able to Build & Support all Publick buildings
necessary for a County town -- There fore we your Petitioners -
humbly request your Honourable House would take their Case under
your Consideration & Grant them a New County including the
Tiger's Valley Settlement & the Settlement on the Westfork of
the Monongalia and also Buckhannan's Creek Settlement, which
will greatly ease your Petitioners and Very as in duty shall
ever Pray --

Wm. Weftfall              	Wm Currants
John Casaday              	Wm. Casaday
George Weftfall           	Henery Doleya
Peter Casaday Jr.        	James Weftall
David Casaday             	Wm. Blair
Readen Blunt              	Fracis Riffle
Allexa. Macfield          	John Crouch
Jacob Weftfall Sen.       	Peter Casaday, Ser.
George Shaver             	Jacob Shaver
Peter Shaver              	Daniel McClane
Alexan. McClane          	John McClane
Wm. White                 	Daniel Weftfall
Nicholas Smith            	Peter King
John White                	Jacob Stalnaker Sr.
Vallentine Stalnaker      	Jacob Stalnaker Jr.
Benja. Wilfon             	Joel Weftfall
Cornelus King             	Solomon Ryan
Edward Skidmore           	Francis Trader

Mathew Lambert            	Henry Pedro

Jacob Woolf               	Jonathan Smith
Anthony Sandusea          Anthony Smith
Thos. Lovet               	Thos. Philips
Wm. Lovet                 	Peter Dodson
Benja. Cutright           	Michal Ausner

Thos. Ausner              	John Lambert

John Lambert Jr.         	John Yeohem

Francis Wire              	Aron Richardson
Nichols Wools Sen         	Nichols Wools Jr.
James Simms              	 Jacob Springstone
Andrew Crouch             	Daniel Simmerman
Thomas Price              	Jacob Weftfall Jr.
Jacob Everman Jr.         	Samuel Eversman
Jacob Everman Sen.       Wm. CLever Sen.
Joshua Cleaver            	Benja. Cleaver
Charles Clever            	Wm. Clever J.

Daniel Booth              	Jefse Hamilton
Mofes Thomson             	Anthony Huston
Thos. Skidmore            	Andrew Skidmore
John Hunter               	Elias Barker
Wm. Gibfon                	Aron Vanscoyk
David Mathews             	Benja. Johes
James Booth               	Enoch James
Saml. Merifield           	Edward Cuningham
Phillip Coone             	Wm. Tucker
Thos. Cunnaham            	Thos Merifield
John Tucker               	Jonathan Boyer
Henery Tucker             	Nathan Tucker
Nathand Cochran           	John Merifield
Goerge Tucker             	John Tucker Jr.
James Currant             	Saml. Tucker
Wm. Williams              	Wm. Tucker Jr.
Henery Snidor             	Richard Merifield
Jofeph Koon               	Thos. Hellen
Coonrod Koon              	James Tucker
John Crofs                	Anthony Coon
Nichol. Capenter          	Wm. Childers
Obediah Davison           	Nathaniel Davison
Hezekiah Davison         	Josiah Davison
Thos. Barkley             	Daniel Davison
Jofeph Heaflings          	John Wollf
John Nutter               	Jofeph Gregory
Samuel Cotral             	Thos. Reed
John Reed                 	Adam OBria

Christopher Hanaman     Hezekiah Stone**
Aaron Smith               	Benja. Shin
Wm. Crundey              	John Grundey
Charls Burkein            	Jofeph WIlkeson
Saml. WIlkeson            	John Thomas
John Owens Sen.           	John Owens Jr.
John Murphey              	Denis Murphey
Gilbert Husteg            	Mofes Husteg
John Goodan               	John Wickwire
Alpheus WIckwire          	Amefiah Davison
John Rife                 	John Merrit
Levi Duglas               	Charls Persons Sr.
Charls Persons Jr.        	Wm. Thomas
Henry Thomas              	Christopher Baker
Sotha Hickman             	Wm. More
Mathew Nutter             	Saml. Board
Jonah Webb                	Thos. Webb
Benj. Webb                	Thos. Nutter
Christopher Nutter        	Wm. Taylor
Wm. Louther               	Robert Parks
Coonrod Richards         	Jofeph Woolf
Daniel Came               	John Cane
Arnol Richards            	Isaac Richards
Charls Washburn           	Isaac Washburn
Steven Washburn           James Washburn
Robert Louther            	Joel Louther
Richard Ratliff           	Charls Ratcliff
Joshua Allen              	Wm. Roberson
John Powers               	Daniel Stout

Jonathan Lambert          	Job Stout

Wm. Murphey               	Thos. Shin
John McDonald             	Thos Herbert
Abraham Reece             	Barns Allen
James Owens               	David Edward
John Husteg               	Archebol McCenney
James McCenney            John Stackhour***
Isaac Stackhouse          	Benja. Couplan
Gabriel Wilkeson          	John Watts
WIlliam Pettyjohn         	William Pettyjohn Jr.
Amos Pettyjohn            	John Pettyjohn
Major Powers              	Edmon Freeman
John Chacker *             	Wm. Marten
Wm. Marten Jr.            	Abraham Sandres
Saml. Blair               	Richard Skidmor
William Powers

*This is John Hacker.       ***This is John Stackhouse.
**This is Hezekiah Stout.

Return to HCPD's Check Em Out!

Return to Harrison County GenWeb