Floyd County, Georgia - Historic Marker - Georgia School for the Deaf


Contributed by: Sharlyn Shaw

Source: Marker outside of the Georgia School for the Deaf in Cave Spring, Floyd County, Georgia

In 1833, a deaf man, John Jacobus Flournoy, of Jackson County, great grandson of Jacob Flournoy, a French Huguenot, urging education for the deaf, interested Governor Wilson Lumpkin and the Georgia Legislature in this educational movement. At first the pupils, few in number, were sent to the American Asylum for the Deaf and Dumb in Hartford. Conn. Distance, weather, and the youth of the pupils made that unsatisfactory. On May 15, 1846, with four pupils in a log cabin, with O. P. Fannin, teacher, this school began as a part of the Hearn Manual School at Cave Spring, Georgia. This school grew rapidly and, in 1847, a brick building was erected and dedicated. Later, other additions were made. The school was closed during the War Between the States and used as a hospital by both Confederate and Union forces. It resumed operations in February 1867 and is still supported by the State of Georgia. In 1955, this school had 82 teachers and employees and an income of more than $500,000.

Additional Comments:

Historic Marker
057-M - 1955
Georgia Historic Commission
Georgia School for the Deaf
Cave Spring, Floyd County, Georgia
In the event that Sharlyn Shaw cannot be reached, please contact for further action.

All comments, additions and suggestions to expand or improve this page are welcome and will be responded to.

This page is a free service to all Family Historians who are currently doing research in the Floyd County, Georgia area. This site is part of the USGenWeb Project . If you have an interest in supporting an unadopted county of Georgia that is listed on the Georgia home page under the counties list, you can volunteer to sponser that county home page by contacting the Georgia State Coordinator for further information. Please send comments, suggestions or updates for this page to , Floyd County Coordinator.

Copyright 2010 - present by Doris Estes Robbins
This page was last updated Wednesday, 19-Jun-2013 08:01:07 MDT