The War of 1812 between the United States and Britain was seen by Georgians as an opportunity to open up more land. On the eve of the war a former governor, George Mathews, led a private army on an abortive invasion of Florida.  Despite the fact that the war was with Britain, not Spain, Georgia's Governor David Mitchell used the excuse of war to lead the Georgia militia on another unauthorized attack on Saint Augustine, Florida, in 1812.  The invasion failed and the troops withdrew to Georgia soil.

Meanwhile the Upper Creek, living mainly in Alabama, joined the British against the United States.  Georgia volunteers under General John Floyd rushed into the Creek country of southwest Georgia.  At the same time, General Andrew Jackson led an army into Alabama and defeated the Upper Creek at the Battle of Horseshoe Bend in 1814.  Jackson was supported by 500 Cherokee, who swam the Tallapoosa River to attack the Creek forces from the rear.  After the victory Jackson forced the Upper Creek to sign a treaty giving up a large portion of Alabama and Georgia.

Fayette County was formed from Creek Indian lands ceded in 1821. The Land Lottery Drawing in 1821 resulted from lands ceded from the Creek Indian Nation and five new counties were created.  The counties were FAYETTE, Henry, Houston, Monroe and Dooly.  Fayette was the 49th original county formed in Georgia.  There is land that was originally Fayette County that is now part of Fulton, Clayton, Spalding and Dekalb counties.  Some part of Fayette County was originally Henry County.

It is believed that the county was named for Marquis de LaFayette who fought side-by-side with General George Washington in the Revolutionary War.  The new settlers in part were veterans from the Revolutionary War and perhaps thus so named the County Fayette in honor of the Marquis.

Fayetteville was the only City until the 1900's even though several small townships or communities had names.  Fayetteville was named in 1823 and the courthouse that stands today in the town square was built in 1825.  It is the oldest courthouse in Georgia and is still being utilized today.

There was actually action during the Civil War in the middle of the county as an indirect role of the Battle of Atlanta, one main event focused on the burning of a Confederate wagon supply train approximately 2 miles west of Fayetteville.  Also as a result of that there was a Calvary skirmish the next day.

Peachtree City, enacted in 1959.  Peachtree City was the first in the line of cities that attempted to plan out the city before its initial foray into the business community.  Other cities incorporated in Fayette County are Tyrone and Brooks. 

Links to Fayette County Historical Information on this Site

Books - Including Fayette History

Legislative Acts Concerning the Land Lottery
Legislative Acts Concerning the Boundaries of Fayette County
Legislative Acts Concerning Elections in Fayette County

Legislative Acts regarding Publications - 1826

Legislative Acts regarding Publications- 1842
Legislative Acts regarding Roads - 1829
Legislative Acts regarding Taxes - 1834
An Act Authorizing Certain Persons to Practice Law, 1843
An Act Authorizing Collin Alford as Notary Public, 1823
An Act Authorizing Luke Johnson as Justice of the Peace, 1854
Legislative Act regarding Commissioners of Rivers, 1826
Legislative Act regarding Board of Commissioners of Roads and Revenue, 1872
An Act to appropriate money for the support of Government during the political years 1854 and 1855

Fayette County History Resources - Off Site

University of Georgia Project Site - Fayette Courthouse & Maps

Georgia Historical Markers Site
Georgia's Land Lottery -- 1805 - 1832
National Register of Historic Places in Fayette Co., GA
Sherpa Guides - Flint River Area

Home Page

This page was last updated on -03/12/2017

Compilation Copyright Linda Blum-Barton

2001-Present - All Rights Reserved.