From the History of Ebenezer Baptist Church
by Nelle Price Epps
upon one’s perspective, the history of Ebenezer, formerly known
as Landrum Chapel Baptist Church, can lead to or stem from the history
of Baptists in Athens.
In 1830, the first church for Baptists was established in Athens. It
was called Athens Baptist Church, and it was located on the corner of
Broad and Lumpkin Streets. Although Athens Baptist Church was operated
by Whites, Blacks were received as members.
In 1849, a meeting house was built for the Blacks. It was called African
Baptist Church, and it was located on the corner of Mitchell and Thomas
Streets. The Blacks had expressed an interest in having a separate building;
however, the presence of this building did not mean that the two races
worshiped separately thereafter. The African Baptist Church just permitted
a greater concentration on that portion of the church. Whites also attended
the worship services of African Baptist Church, and the conferences
held there were recorded chronologically with conferences at the White
Shortly after the end of the Civil War, the Black members decided to
separate from Athens Baptist Church and form an independent church.
Hence, on April 7, 1867, at a conference held by them, a question of
separation was presented. On May 4, 1871, Athens Baptist Church authorized
the Blacks to sell the African Baptist Church building and to use the
proceeds for a new building.
Available documents do not reveal the next owner of the African Baptist
Church building. However, the records do indicate that the structure
was used for Landrum Baptist Church, a biracial church, and for factory
workers. Records of Ebenezer refer to the abandoned building on Mitchell
and Thomas Streets. Additionally these records refer to 1878, the year
the structure was not being used. During that year, The Reverend Collins
Henry Lyons and a few others met in it and organized Landrum Chapel
Baptist Church, later in 1889, named Ebenezer Baptist Church. Winnie
Moore, the great aunt of Theresa Flanagan was in the group.
On November 15, 1881, Landrum Chapel Baptist Church became the birthplace
of Jeruel Academy an educational entity later named Jeruel Baptist Institute,
Union Baptist Institute, and Union. The institution was the guiding
star for many young people in Northeast Georgia until 1956, the year
it merged with the Clarke County School District.
Documents and oral accounts do not give specifics on the first three
men who succeeded the Reverend Lyons, the founder and pastor; however,
one can conclude that they helped to create a viable program. They were
the Reverends J. A. Walker, J. W. Scott, and D. C. Bracy.
In 1898, the Reverend J. H. Horton became the pastor. Under his leadership,
in 1921, Ebenezer purchased a portion of the present property, (corner
of Reese and Chase).
to Church Records