Cherokee Co. GAGenWeb

Cherokee County, Georgia, was created from ceded land of the Cherokee Indians on 21 December 1830. On 3 December 1832, Cheorkee County was divided into ten counties: Forsyth, Lumpkin, Union, Cobb, Cherokee, Gilmer, Cass [now Bartow], Murray, Floyd, and Paulding.

Canton is the County Seat

Records Military History


Bartow Cobb Dawson Forsyth
Fulton Gordon Pickens