Leon County 1826 Election

Leon County 1826 Election Returns

The first session of the Florida Legislative Council met in Tallahassee in November 1824 in a log cabin near the present-day capitol building. Reproduced below is one of the earliest surviving election returns for members of the territorial legislature. It documents an election held at Fort St. Marks in Leon (now Wakulla) County to elect a member to the Seventh District of the Legislative Council. The two candidates receiving votes in Precinct Fourwere William Wyatt and David Macomb (also spelled McComb or McCombe). Wyatt, who won the won the vote totals in the Fourth Precinct by a vote of 6-5, also won the overall election. Wyatt represented the Seventh District in the 1826, 1827, and 1827 sessions of the Legislative Council, and Leon County in the 1838 session. In addition, he was a member from Leon County of the 1838-1839 Constitutional Convention held at St Joseph.

Images and Text are courtesy of the Florida State Library and Archives

We the Subscribers Judges of the Election for Member of the Legislative Council for the Terotory of Florida. held at Fort St Mark in the County Leon 7 District and 4 precinct. do hereby certify that the Said Election. held at the aforesaid place that
Mr. McComb 11111 ---- 5
Mr. Wyat 111111 ----- 6
Doctr. Gibson ---------
Mr. McNeill -----------
Mr. Livanis -----------
they were Candidates and there were given to Mr. McComb five votes and given to Mr. Wyatt Six votes.

Signed T.H. [?] Chamberlain S and C G Y [?] Tested [?] Edwd Hickey Octr 4 1826 Clerk

return to main page

Copyright Notice
All files on this site are copyrighted by their creator. They may not be reproduced on another site without specific permission from Vickie Sturgill Stevens . Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are.

2013 FlGenWeb Project