Official Lafayette FLGenWeb Site

Lafayette County Florida

Written By: Laverne Tornow, Lafayette County Coordinator

Lafayette County was created December 23, 1856 from part of Madison County, and included at the time what is now both Lafayette and Dixie Counties. The county seat is at Mayo, which is currently the only incorporated town in the county. Lafayette County was named in honor of Marquis de Lafayette, the French citizen who rendered assistance to the colonies during the American Revolutionary War. The county courts first met at the home of Ariel Jones near Fayetteville. The county seat was moved to Mayo from New Troy in 1893.

Lafayette County is home to thousands of acres of southern pine forests and swamps and is still rather sparsely populated. It is nestled between Madison, Taylor, Dixie, Suwannee and Gilchrist Counties. In 1921 the lower part of the county was carved off and created into Dixie County.

The historic Suwannee River forms the entire eastern boundary of Lafayette, between Suwannee and Gilchrist counties. The Steinhatchee river runs through it on its way to the Gulf of Mexico in neighboring Taylor County. It is also home to many ponds, lakes, creeks, streams, hammocks and Mallory Swamp. Cook's Hammock is a mecca for the outdoor sportsman with its bountiful game and wildlife.

The early settlers of Lafayette County were a hardy people, who depended upon its bountiful fishing, game, farmland, and timber to feed and house their families. Some of those pioneering families descendants still reside in Lafayette county today!

Search this Site

Template and Original Content:  © 2008-2010  Laverne Tornow  |  FLGenWeb Logo: Jeff Kemp