Welcome to Jefferson County GenWeb


This page is no longer being updated at this location. Please visit our new location at:

New Jefferson County FLGenWeb Site

According to Florida Territorial Acts 1826, 5th session, page 151 Jefferson County was created from Leon County. It became effective January 30, 1827.

It was named for Thomas Jefferson, third President of the United States of America, who served from 1801 to 1809. It's location between the panhandle and peninsular Florida, it is often referred