About Regina Branch

The Saskatchewan Genealogical Society is a volunteer organization devoted to promoting the study of family history throughout the province of Saskatchewan, Canada. It has 20 local branches throughout the province. Regina Branch is one of those branches, active within the capital city of Regina and the surrounding area.

The SGS provincial office and library has a small staff. However, all of the branches, including Regina Branch, are purely voluntary. We help each other with our family history research. We also participate in several activities, described on this website, which assist fellow genealogists to access Saskatchewan-based data. It is likely those activities which will be of most interest to visitors to this site.

What We Do

As you will see elsewhere on this site, SGS Regina Branch is very active:

We get together for monthly meetings, which usually include member sharing,
a program and fellowship, and may include a business meeting.
See Coming Events page.
We do genealogical research for ourselves and others.
Many of our members are Certified Saskatchewan Researchers.
See Research page.
We produce and sell excellent indexes of the 1891 Census of the Northwest Territories.
See 1891 Census Index page.
We record and index burials in Regina and area cemeteries.
See Cemetery Index page.
Every few years we host the SGS annual provincial seminar, a three-day conference.

Who We Are
SGS Regina Branch is always looking for members and volunteers.
Here the directors and key volunteers, as of the AGM November 28, 2017.
Several other volunteers participate in programs, and assist with special projects
by reading headstones and indexing census records, for example.
President: Renae Grubb
Vice President:  
Secretary: Shirley Hauglum
Treasurer & Membership: Elaine Noble
Directors at Large: Linda Engel, Terri Hamill, Sharon Spott
Branch Web Site: Linda Engel, Terri Hamill
Now & Then Newsletter: Jacquie ​Stark (editor)
Census Index Project: Marian Powell (coordinator)
Cemetery Project Committee: Phoebe Banbury, Gene Mielke, Elaine Noble
Program & Publicity Committee: Renae Grubb, Elaine Noble