Arkansas Society, National Society Sons of the American Revolution

Arkansas Society

Organized February 11, 1890

Membership Requirements

Any man shall be eligible for membership in this Society who, being of the age of eighteen years or over and a citizen of good repute in the community, is the lineal descendant of an ancestor who was at all times unfailing in loyalty to, and rendered active service in, the cause of American independence, either as an officer, soldier, seaman, marine, militiaman or Minuteman, in the armed forces of the Continental congress, or of any one of the several Colonies or States, or as a signer of the Declaration of Independence, or as a member of a Committee of Safety or Correspondence, or as a member of any Continental, Provincial or Colonial congress or legislature, or as a recognized patriot who performed actual service by overt acts of resistance to the authority of Great Britain. The applicant must also be personally acceptable to the Society.

Among the most significant contributions to the preservation of our history is the commemoration of our Patriot Ancestors with permanent marking of their interments. This may be accomplished in several ways, with both formal and informal ceremonies. A suggested format for a memorial service may be viewed at this page. See more, including a list of approximately 230 reported Patriot Ancestor burials in Arkansas compiled for Arkansas State Society DAR Regent Marylee Schultz by Arkansas State Society DAR Historian Ann Allison Pounds in 2008, at this link.

Georgia Society NSSAR has put together a "Source Book" of articles conveying, on the basis of their experience, a great deal of useful information on a number of issues involved in SAR activities. Follow this link to see what they have provided.



State Officers 2016/2017

President: Leslie Roy Magee

President Emeritus: Bernard Barber

Immediate Past President: Corey Douglas Burns
1st Vice President:
Joey Raymond Sehon
Dennis Boyer
Registrar: EuGene Smith
Genealogist-western areas: Lance Florian Myers
Genealogist-central areas: Corey Douglas Burns
Robert Penquite
Chancellor: John C. Finley III
Historian: David Reed Rasmussen
Rev Robert I Miskimen Sr

Chairman, Americanism Committee:Leslie Roy Magee

Chairman, Eagle Scout Committee: Allen Bush
Chairman, Public Safety Committee: Richard O'Connell
Chairman, Membership Committee: EuGene Smith
American History TeacherAward:Jerry Duane Byram

National Trustee:
Jerold "Jerry" Montgomery

Alt. National Trustee:
Michael Scrape


Follow this link for the latest edition of the ARSSAR newsletter, the "Arkansas Patriot".

ARSSAR State Annual Meeting was held March 18th, 2017, at the Doubletree Hotel, 424 West Markham St., Little Rock, AR.

Questions? Comments? Contact webmaster, Dennis Boyer

Updated: 19 Mar 2017